Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: 10.5 or 10??

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default 10.5 or 10??

    I followed the instructions ((Already own v10? If so, this upgrade is free. Just open your Alpha Five v10 , go to the help menu and choose Check for New Version.))

    This shows the latest release was for v10 on 6/10/10. Perhaps mention could be made to indicate this is the release of 10.5 and remove the confusion???

    kenn
    Last edited by forskare; 06-17-2010 at 11:15 PM.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Scott Emerick's Avatar
    Real Name
    Scott Emerick
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Central Virginia/ North Carolina Border
    Posts
    2,154

    Default Re: 10.5 or 10??

    Kenn,

    The current version is 2924/ 3560 which is 10.5

    There was a slight lag in the announcement being posted.

    Scott

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: 10.5 or 10??

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Emerick View Post
    Kenn,

    The current version is 2924/ 3560 which is 10.5

    There was a slight lag in the announcement being posted.

    Scott
    However, the clarity of the release name is still lagging which is why I didn't apply the update until I received the notice in my email and even then I had to read the fine print.

    kenn

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Scott Emerick's Avatar
    Real Name
    Scott Emerick
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Central Virginia/ North Carolina Border
    Posts
    2,154

    Default Re: 10.5 or 10??


  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: 10.5 or 10??

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Emerick View Post
    Why can't they keep simple? Even Dr Heller didn't know it was released. Shhhhh, it's a secret!

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred daniel
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: 10.5 or 10??

    I had the same questions as well. Why did they not just call it 10.5. When I looked at the .exe file it even sayd version 10.0.0.

    Seems it would make more sense to just call it 10.5.0

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: 10.5 or 10??

    Quote Originally Posted by Windstarsoftware View Post
    I had the same questions as well. Why did they not just call it 10.5. When I looked at the .exe file it even sayd version 10.0.0.

    Seems it would make more sense to just call it 10.5.0
    My take on it is it's the same as previous releases, not the best communication. The documentation was not ready, especially where it should have been or needs to be. I'm not upset but I suspect Dr. Heller had a few words to say, at least I hope he did. It left a bit of egg on his face. He'll get his part of the show squared away as time goes on.

    That said, it is a top quality product, second to none. no other product is even close. If this is the worst about A5, well, lets just say i can live with it and the improvements will come. Selwyn, Richard and their folks are very dedicated and have worked too hard for it not to come around. Plus, I appreciate the price tag for v10 owners. It can't be beat. :)

    kenn

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: 10.5 or 10??

    Seems it would make more sense to just call it 10.5.0
    yeah but as explained by Selwyn in a recent post, if they had it would have potentionally broken some people's apps ....so I, for one, am glad that the Alpha team realized this prior to doing so as many seem to have wanted.

    Reading the messageboard has a big advantage in that things such as this make perfect sense to those that try to keep up on doing so...the other obvious advantage is that when new features, problems, or other aspects are shown here, they become part of the knowledge I feel is necessary to be a better programmer.

    I know....time to do so can be a hard commodity to come by....but IMO it is like the continuing education courses that professionals take to keep on top and be aware of what is needed to be the best or competitive....that is what the messageboard is to me.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: 10.5 or 10??

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
    yeah but as explained by Selwyn in a recent post, if they had it would have potentionally broken some people's apps ....so I, for one, am glad that the Alpha team realized this prior to doing so as many seem to have wanted.
    What it is called on the outside and how it works on the inside are totally different, are they not? The way it is now does cause some confusion and a short explanation, i.e. "This includes v10.5" would seem appropriate. To just put it out and let folks stumble across it is not good. Don't forget, there are those who did not install the last several patches because of bugs, etc., myself included.

    Information is power and without the right information, one is powerless and everyone needs power at the right time and the right place.

    kenn

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: 10.5 or 10??

    not really in disagreement at all Ken. Just wanted to point out that there was a reason why the build does not reflect 10.5 ....that it was not an oversight at all. An additional note indicating that it is 10.5 should have been created some way to show users for sure!
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,026

    Default Re: 10.5 or 10??

    The build numbers will tell for sure. Do wish it said 10.5 though.

    I downloaded all the patches as they came out and found bugs(expected). reported 3 I found. One was quickly fixed, one is a coming fix and one did not show as a bug to alpha, but disappeared on it's own. Not sure how it fixed itself.

    Very happy so far.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldausa.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •