Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Alpha sometimes creates a second link field

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Werder
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    178

    Default Alpha sometimes creates a second link field

    I use a set based form to enter data. All my memo fields are in one separate table. After entering data in memo “field 1” the link field is automatically created. When (after a few days) data is entered in memo “field 2” alpha sometimes creates a second link field and stores the data from “field 1” and “field 2” under the second link field. When the record is closed and reopened alpha only shows the data from the first link field.

    How can I prevent alpha from creating a second link field. Where should I be looking to find out what's going wrong.

  2. #2
    Member Ton Spies's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ton Spies
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    555

    Default Re: Alpha sometimes creates a second link field

    Werder,

    Can you zip and show us the application on that part where you have questions about?

    Then we can take a look of what's going on.
    Now, it's difficult to understand what you have created and its behaviour. Is the problem in the set or on the form or with the memofieldstable?

    Ton
    Most things are simple but unfortunately only after the first time

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Werder
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    178

    Default Re: Alpha sometimes creates a second link field

    Thanks for your response. You actually already helped me by explaining the problem could be with the set, from or memofield table. I was able to duplicate a similar problem and changed a wrong linking field in my address lookup table. I'll just wait and see if this does the trick.

Similar Threads

  1. Do not show the 1st rec and & creates a blank record
    By MikeData in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-18-2010, 10:20 AM
  2. =API_UUIDCREATE() creates identical key on insert
    By evetsyam in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 11:41 PM
  3. New set creates ddd/ddm/ddx
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-14-2007, 11:01 AM
  4. database always creates new records
    By delex01108@yahoo.com in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-06-2006, 08:15 PM
  5. Append Creates Blank Record
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-20-2002, 11:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •