Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Report header and group header, but not both?

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic Mike Wilson's Avatar
    Real Name
    mike wilson
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    4,212

    Default Report header and group header, but not both?

    I have read until I am blue in the face and haven't found a solution. Must be me 'cause it must be me.

    I need a report header for a corporate logo, address and such, on page 1. Next is Group header. Groups are started as new pages and I need group header for column header information. But having both are seemingly not allowed to happen on page one, as only the Report header will show and the group header is suppressed on page one. Only one shows. Why, what do I do and damn these reports are just HARD!! How do I get both a report header with logo etc for page one and Group Hearder to show on page one?
    Mike W
    __________________________
    "I rebel in at least small things to express to the world that I have not completely surrendered"

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Clunes's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mark Pearson
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,001

    Default Re: Report header and group header, but not both?

    Yes - I agree with you this is a problem. I would say it needs a fix as I can't get it do the logical as you state. I also note that with a page header turned on the start group on a new page turned on, the groups do not start on a new page.
    -----------------------------------------------
    Regards
    Mark Pearson
    mark.pearson@onestopsolutions.com.au
    Youtube channel
    Website

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tim Kiebert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Kiebert
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,785

    Default Re: Report header and group header, but not both?

    Don't have time to test seeing as I am on holidays (in Brandon Manitoba at the moment) but try a page header for the report rather than the report header.
    Tim Kiebert
    Eagle Creek Citrus
    A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Report header and group header, but not both?

    Tim is right (of course! :) ) about using the page header....think of the Report Header as a cover page because that is really all it is....I RARELY use a report header in any report.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Clunes's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mark Pearson
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,001

    Default Re: Report header and group header, but not both?

    I interpretted this as needing a report header at the start and a header for the group. Each group starts on it own page. If the group goes over a page then there is no need for any header. If you use page header you get a header on every page. I did not think that is what was being asked for.
    -----------------------------------------------
    Regards
    Mark Pearson
    mark.pearson@onestopsolutions.com.au
    Youtube channel
    Website

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Mike Wilson's Avatar
    Real Name
    mike wilson
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    4,212

    Default Re: Report header and group header, but not both?

    Mark, Tim, Mike,
    Thanks for replying. I am with you Mike, and that is what kept me, I guess, from getting to the solution, but in this case it seems to be needed.

    Tim,
    Be on vacation dude and report your world travels, my friend! But thanks because you did bump me to get to the solution...

    To achieve what I needed here is the combination that seems to work.

    It takes having both a Report Header and a Page Header for Report present. The Report Header must be empty. The Report Header for Report has to contain the the logo and first page info AND also contain the elements of the Page Header for Group.

    Not an intuitive combination for sure, but I am thankful to finally get there.

    I attacted a screen shot of this if it helps. Thanks for the help.
    Last edited by Mike Wilson; 09-23-2010 at 12:30 AM.
    Mike W
    __________________________
    "I rebel in at least small things to express to the world that I have not completely surrendered"

Similar Threads

  1. Report header printing below page header
    By Working Vern in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-07-2007, 04:27 PM
  2. Report and Group Header Issue
    By ninomcd in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 07:01 PM
  3. Group Header prints twice
    By Wanda Tucker in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-09-2006, 05:41 PM
  4. Report Group Header
    By Joseph Claeys in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-02-2004, 02:58 PM
  5. Group header
    By Edward F. Schulz in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-11-2002, 05:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •