Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

xbasic or javascript and Jquery

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    xbasic or javascript and Jquery

    Hi everyone,

    I'm in the process of moving all my MS Access ADO code over to Alpha Five. What is the best method to port over code that runs at a button click that does lots of database updates and/or insert? Would Xbasic be the best, or javascript? I have put a lot of code in triggers and stored procedures.

    for example, I have a button that freezes our financial forecasts into an outlook (another table). So it iterates on all the contracts in one table, gets the current forecast and makes updates to another table.

    In Access I just did a recordset and run thru a loop. How would I do the same thing in Alpha Five? Javascript and JQueries or Xbasic?

    thanks

    Mark

    #2
    Re: xbasic or javascript and Jquery

    In Access I just did a recordset and run thru a loop. How would I do the same thing in Alpha Five? Javascript and JQueries or Xbasic?

    You can run a loop in Xbasic would be fine.
    Nicholas Wieland
    LedgerSuite.com Corp
    [email protected]
    http://www.ledgersuite.com

    Comment


      #3
      Re: xbasic or javascript and Jquery

      Recordset example

      reading excel creating record set and looping thru

      'Date Created: 23-Apr-2011 01:49:10 PM
      'Last Updated: 23-Apr-2011 01:51:34 PM
      'Created By : BIGKX001
      'Updated By : BIGKX001
      'Execute a query on a SQL database
      'DIM a connection variable
      DIM cn as SQL::Connection
      dim flagResult as l
      debug(1)
      flagResult = cn.open("::Name::Weekly")
      if flagResult = .f. then
      ui_msg_box("Error","Could not connect to database. Error reported was: " + crlf() + cn.CallResult.text)
      end
      end if

      'Specify if you are using Portable SQL syntax, or not
      cn.PortableSQLEnabled = .t.
      dim sqlStatement as c
      sqlStatement = <<%sql%
      SELECT * FROM [COMP$] COMP_ WHERE KEY IS NOT NULL
      %sql%
      'Execute the Query
      flagResult = cn.Execute(sqlStatement)
      if flagResult = .f. then
      ui_msg_box("Error",cn.CallResult.text)
      cn.close()
      end
      end if
      dim rs as sql::resultset
      rs = cn.ResultSet
      'This is sample code that shows you how to loop over the rows in the ResultSet
      dim flagLoop as l
      flagLoop = .t.
      while flagLoop
      'to read column values from the ResultSet, use then rs.Data() method, passing in either the column number or column name
      'e.g. var = rs.Data(1)
      ' var = rs.Data("customerId")

      'if we are on the last row, rs.NextRow() will return .f. which will break out of this while loop
      flagLoop = rs.NextRow()

      end While


      'Now, close the connection
      cn.close()

      Comment


        #4
        Re: xbasic or javascript and Jquery

        Originally posted by Ken Biggs View Post
        Recordset example

        reading excel creating record set and looping thru

        'Date Created: 23-Apr-2011 01:49:10 PM
        'Last Updated: 23-Apr-2011 01:51:34 PM
        'Created By : BIGKX001
        'Updated By : BIGKX001
        'Execute a query on a SQL database
        'DIM a connection variable
        DIM cn as SQL::Connection
        dim flagResult as l
        debug(1)
        flagResult = cn.open("::Name::Weekly")
        if flagResult = .f. then
        ui_msg_box("Error","Could not connect to database. Error reported was: " + crlf() + cn.CallResult.text)
        end
        end if

        'Specify if you are using Portable SQL syntax, or not
        cn.PortableSQLEnabled = .t.
        dim sqlStatement as c
        sqlStatement = <<%sql%
        SELECT * FROM [COMP$] COMP_ WHERE KEY IS NOT NULL
        %sql%
        'Execute the Query
        flagResult = cn.Execute(sqlStatement)
        if flagResult = .f. then
        ui_msg_box("Error",cn.CallResult.text)
        cn.close()
        end
        end if
        dim rs as sql::resultset
        rs = cn.ResultSet
        'This is sample code that shows you how to loop over the rows in the ResultSet
        dim flagLoop as l
        flagLoop = .t.
        while flagLoop
        'to read column values from the ResultSet, use then rs.Data() method, passing in either the column number or column name
        'e.g. var = rs.Data(1)
        ' var = rs.Data("customerId")

        'if we are on the last row, rs.NextRow() will return .f. which will break out of this while loop
        flagLoop = rs.NextRow()

        end While


        'Now, close the connection
        cn.close()
        You can get rid of this:
        flagLoop = rs.NextRow()
        dim flagLoop as l
        flagLoop = .t.

        By changing while flagLoop to while rs.NextRow()

        Also, the code above imports record by record - and if a record fails - the procedure stops. You might want to change this to something like this: (if any record fails - the entire thing gets rolled back)
        Code:
        dim x as N=0
        if cn.begintransaction() then
             while rs.NextRow()
                 'execute statements - insert stuff, etc etc'
                 if failing_condition then
                     flagerror=.t.
                     exit while
                 else 
                     x=x+1
                 end if
             end while
        
             if flagerror then
                cn.rollbacktransaction()
             else
                if cn.committransaction()==.f. then
                   ui_msg_box("could not commit")
                else
                   ui_msg_box("imported "+x+" records")
                end if
             end if 
        else
          ui_msg_box("could not start transaction")
        end if
        Scott Moniz - Computer Programmer/Analyst
        REA Inc.
        http://reainc.net
        (416)-533-3777
        [email protected]

        REA INC offers consulting services, programming services, systems design, database design, third party payment gateway integration (CHASE, PAYPAL, AUTHORIZE.NET) and developer support.
        If you need custom code, or 1-to-1 mentoring in any facet of your database/web application design,
        contact us to discuss options.

        Comment

        Working...
        X