Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Converting Desktop Application Forms To Web Components

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Phil P
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    24

    Default Converting Desktop Application Forms To Web Components

    Folks, is there a way to convert forms to web components? I spent several months to develop the database with desktop application version. Now I need to make the database accessible thru internet. Is there a way to do this or I have to spend several months to repeat everything from scratch?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Converting Desktop Application Forms To Web Components

    Phil P,
    According to what I have read, all the tables/sets can be still used as well as the reports based on them....but as the web is a completely different "animal", the screens/pages have to be created that mimic your desktop forms. No direct conversion has been made, but there is an addon feature pack (Flying Start Genie) that will create basic pages with grid components based on your forms....see this link
    http://alphasoftware.com/shop/v10/AddOns.asp
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic mmaisterrena's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mauricio Maisterrena
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Torreon, Mexico
    Posts
    1,435

    Default Re: Converting Desktop Application Forms To Web Components

    Same question same answer:
    If you used forms to develop your app then there is no way, the only way to get ported automatically to the web is if you used grids in your application (only possible in v10 for desktop apps).

    You might want to try the Flying start Feature pack (sold separetly) that will automatically create a grid for each table you have
    Cheers
    Mauricio


Similar Threads

  1. Converting Desktop Operations to the Web App Server
    By RobPolley in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-25-2010, 09:46 PM
  2. Web Grid Components Can Now be used on the desktop in v10!!
    By Richard Rabins in forum Announcements
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-31-2009, 03:32 PM
  3. grid size on forms -- NOT WEB COMPONENTS
    By dik_coleman in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-09-2009, 07:16 PM
  4. How To Import Data From Web Application Into Desktop Application
    By edocx in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-14-2008, 10:44 AM
  5. Converting from desktop to web question
    By Scholin in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2007, 09:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •