Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Refresh table fails

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Pat Sonnek
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default Refresh table fails

    I am trying to refresh a couple of LARGE tables. I am getting the following Error.

    Could not create local cache for data from your Database. Your Database reported the following error:

    Database API specific error

    Your database has returned the following error code and description to Alpha Five.
    Consult your database documentation for further information.

    10004 - '[QODBC] Error
    SQL State is: 42500 while converting ResultSet to DBF table'



    This is pretty much gibberish to me and doesn't offer any clue as to why this report, which has ran at the end of every quarter this year, with out fail, now gets this cryptic error message.

    Does anyone have any ideas what I need to do to get around this error? I need to have this report ran by the end of the week.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Refresh table fails

    Hi Pat,
    Does the error also occur now when accessing a lessor record set which was successful before? Not knowing how you are obtaining records determines how to try and check this out.---if you take all the records when refreshing try adding a date range to limit the records coming over (may want to do this anyway as a matter of course).

    Your OS speed (cpu, ram, etc) may even play a part.

    I had one client whose report would not run correctly (if at all) until he upgraded to QRB v11. Why? It could have been a couple of things, but both I am assuming are due to the processing speed of the huge amount of data coming across....Will you have to do this? We will have to explore much further to determine if so. If you do need to test out in v11 you can download the trial version of it--BUT make a copy of your project first and open that--creating a back up also would be prudent. Once opened in v11 your project may not function correctly in a prior version dependent upon what your project has in it I have found. So I would do this as a last course of diagnostic if uncomfortable doing so.

    Other pertinent information that should be given....what else have you tried?

    Compacting Database?
    QRB complete shutdown--restart?
    Rebuilding Indices?

    Some/all of the above may be above your understanding and, if so, going off-board with this may be a possibility to try and diagnose this issue. Private message me if needed as it would take but a few minutes to do some of the testing if the error shows up in a relatively short time period.

    Al Buchholz may have an idea or two as well when he sees this.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  3. #3
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: Refresh table fails

    I spoke with Pat and gave him a couple of suggestions that he will try when the workload allows.

    We'll post a follow up with the results.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Auto-increment field rule fails when writing to a table in code
    By alexmuir in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 10:35 AM
  2. Passive Table Refresh fails with MSSQL Read-only rights
    By jdrinen in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-29-2008, 11:34 AM
  3. Show/Hide fails in dialog web component with incomplete page refresh
    By Rick Gerlach in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-17-2008, 01:26 PM
  4. table lookup fails to retain correct selection
    By BuzzB in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-22-2006, 01:54 PM
  5. Refresh lookup table
    By den1s in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-2006, 10:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •