Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: PostgreSQL DAO

  1. #1
    Member badmood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sergio Zordan
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    27

    Default PostgreSQL DAO

    A wish... working PostgreSQL DAO. I'm unable to get it connected even in local with Alpha version 10.5, either in Windows Vista AND Windows XP! In the DAO section of the help there is no mention of PostgreSQL, and you can't find any information on how to connect to it anywhere (without using ODBC).

    Please...
    *** 38911 basic bytes free ***

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert Gilbert
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kingston, Jamaica
    Posts
    166

    Default Re: PostgreSQL DAO

    Hey, I too find that PostgreSQL DAO is not working. It used to work some time ago...dont know what broke it.

    I mainly use PostgreSQL so I wish that this issue would be addressed asap.

  3. #3
    Member badmood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sergio Zordan
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: PostgreSQL DAO

    I'll post a bug report for that...
    *** 38911 basic bytes free ***

  4. #4
    Member badmood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sergio Zordan
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: PostgreSQL DAO

    Hi,

    for everybody that wants to use PostgreSQL with Alpha with DAO there is some interesting news!

    If you want to use AlphaDAO you MUST install the PostgreSQL ODBC driver, but downloading it "by hand" from PostgreSQL site and not installing the one that you can automatically download and install with the PostgreSQL Application Stack Builder, because the name of the driver differs from the one needed from Alpha.

    The problem will be solved with the next patch and the wiki is already updated at http://wiki.alphasoftware.com/How+to...res+connection

    A great thank to Alpha staff!
    *** 38911 basic bytes free ***

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert Gilbert
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kingston, Jamaica
    Posts
    166

    Default Re: PostgreSQL DAO

    Ok I installed the latest PostgreSQL ODBC and it now works !

    Ques: In terms of how Alpha 5 internally connects to MySQL and PostgreSQL:
    I am now getting the impression that the way A5 connection to the 2 types of databases are different. Am I correct ?

  6. #6
    Member badmood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sergio Zordan
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: PostgreSQL DAO

    For what I have understood, in AlphaDAO when you use a PostgreSQL database there is a sort of wrapper that use ODBC to perform the operations but in an optimized way. I don't use MySQL so...

    Sergio
    *** 38911 basic bytes free ***

Similar Threads

  1. alpha DAO connection string to use variable
    By Ken Tjia in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 09:54 AM
  2. More PostgreSQL Madness
    By Occam49 in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-02-2009, 08:43 AM
  3. DAO excel import
    By Ed Barley in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-30-2009, 02:53 AM
  4. ADO vs Alpha DAO
    By jvitello in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-19-2007, 05:23 PM
  5. DAO, ADO and all that stuff
    By Roy Lasris in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2001, 05:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •