Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Works fine in preview but not browser

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Mike
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Works fine in preview but not browser

    My application was working fine in the browser but evidently I've made some change and now you can not browse the grid section or modify the detail section. For example:

    1.The "next" link in the grid does not move to the next page of info
    2.When you click on the grid row the detail row does not update to that row.
    3. If you modify a record in the detail section and click on "save" it's like nothing happens even though the "save" button becomes available.
    4. It's the same in IE or Firefox

    All these functions work perfect in "Preview" mode.

    It's the same on all 6 different grids I have for this application.

    Thanks for help.

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Mike
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Works fine in preview but not browser

    A little more detail. When I open the application under "live preview" using either IE or Firefox it works fine. When I publish it and open it under either IE or Firefox, it does not work correct. Clicking on a grid row does not allow the detail area to update to what i clicked on in the grid. Clicking on next in the grid does not bring up the next 5 records. It's like you've not clicked on anything even though the icons are there.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Chris Tappan
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    1,303

    Default Re: Works fine in preview but not browser

    Are you running different patches on the development machine and the Application Server? There can be weirdness if that's the case...

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Mike
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Works fine in preview but not browser

    Quote Originally Posted by christappan View Post
    Are you running different patches on the development machine and the Application Server? There can be weirdness if that's the case...
    I only have one install. The Development machine is the same as the Application Server. I'm running the release that came out the first part of Dec 2010. I checked this am and it appears to be the current one.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Mike
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Works fine in preview but not browser

    It is possible it has something to do with security. I was trying to implement security last week. I have turned security completely off in the application. I have not turned it off in the application server.

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Works fine in preview but not browser

    security does not work in live preview at all, not supposed to. The way I test out a grid is to open the grid and click Save Page, save the page as test.a5w, publish that to the server or local webroot and test that page. Save Page creates a brand new page with only that grid, nothing else, on the page. So that lets me test it without anything fancy I may have added to my application pages.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

Similar Threads

  1. Works in Design view - fails in Browser???
    By indyepx in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 04:25 AM
  2. Help! Javascript works in Preview but NOT when Published?
    By James Nicholson-Plank in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-12-2010, 05:03 PM
  3. Preview works, Publish does not
    By Atta in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-30-2009, 11:10 AM
  4. URL Calculation Works in Live Preview, Not in Browser
    By iandsdb in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-14-2008, 02:51 PM
  5. Works fine on local host, broken on web
    By starbuck in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-12-2006, 03:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •