Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Greyed out email in runtime version

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Judith Donoghue
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Formby, UK
    Posts
    206

    Default Greyed out email in runtime version

    I have created some standard emails which are stored in the Alpha5 library. I have created a profile in the name of the person who will be operating the run time version.

    The email facility works fine on my pc but when I unzip the files on the runtime pc the email send button and message area is greyed out. Can anyone tell me were I'm going wrong. Thanks.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    My send button remains greyed out in the development version until I enter an email address. Does your process fill in the To area?
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Judith Donoghue
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Formby, UK
    Posts
    206

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Hi Stan,

    Even when I type in an email address the send button and message area stay greyed out. I have tried re installing the program and application files but still no joy.
    Last edited by Judith; 02-24-2011 at 05:18 AM.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    I tend to use the host/default e-mail client and have a button which triggers the event, populating e-mail addresses from a table.
    My current app is running under Run Time.
    Suggest you check the settings.

    View/Settings/E-mail. You should be able to see these in the RT version.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Judith Donoghue
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Formby, UK
    Posts
    206

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Hi Ted,

    I have installed the application on another PC and the email works fine so I think it must be something to do with the other email programs running on the PC. Each email has an individual attachment so we can't just run a merge with an email client unfortunately.

    Regards

    Judith

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Judith, another app of mine Project Tracker, tracks things that should have happened, and if they haven't you can fire of an e-mail which contains the specific content which has been saved in a memo field.

    The app has a selectable list of people on the project, allocated the specified tasks, with deadlines and all that stuff.

    It works on all PC's I've come across, including the ECC somewhat arcane secure mail servers.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Ted,
    I tend to use the host/default e-mail client
    Am curious, what do you do when a client then has gmail or another web based client that is not or has not been set up as a Pop3 email?
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Got me!
    I haven't tried those yet.
    All pop3 accounts so far, however I presume that web clients can be set up as pop3?

    Now I'm going to have to try going through my Virgin Webmail account without using Outlook/Express/Windows Live Mail!

    Good job it's raining.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Diana Crissman
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    140

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Quote Originally Posted by Judith View Post
    Hi Ted,

    I have installed the application on another PC and the email works fine so I think it must be something to do with the other email programs running on the PC. Each email has an individual attachment so we can't just run a merge with an email client unfortunately.

    Regards

    Judith
    Hi Judith. Here's a last resort -- its not regarding emails, but there may be some connection. http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ad.php?t=81048

    Diana

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
    Ted,
    Am curious, what do you do when a client then has gmail or another web based client that is not or has not been set up as a Pop3 email?
    Had a quick look at this again Mike. While I'm sure that it is doable with an API or add in macro, the clients I work with all have a formal approach to using Outlook as their one and only BUSINESS mail and contact facility. It also allows a monitor and recording feature a bit like "Big Brother".

    As I work mainly with UK Gvmt. Depts. I can't see this changing soon.

    Do companies use corporate webmail direct in the US?

    I can still get at mine from any PC with an internet connection but am not too keen on the data being held on someone else's servers.

    In my other day job looking after data quality and security, I've seen too many hacks, (and worked with a few really good hackers at one international company).
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Judith Donoghue
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Formby, UK
    Posts
    206

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Still having problems with the email message area and send button being greyed out on the runtime version of Alpha Five, it appears to be quite random, email feature works on some runtime computers but not on others.

    I have attached a screen print hoping that someone may spot the flaw in this.

    Thank you.

    Jude

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Judith, I think I've narrowed this down a bit.
    I've got V10.5 running pretty sweetly with Win7 64 using the Alpha Client. Send and Recieve working well.

    Back to V9. The Send button is greyed out until the field recognises "something" and then it activates.

    example.consulting@vir does NOT activate the Send, but
    example.consulting@virg does. The only difference is the g.

    Have you fiddled with the addresses?
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  13. #13
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Quote Originally Posted by Judith View Post
    Still having problems with the email message area and send button being greyed out on the runtime version of Alpha Five, it appears to be quite random, email feature works on some runtime computers but not on others.

    I have attached a screen print hoping that someone may spot the flaw in this.

    Thank you.

    Jude
    Been digging some more Jude. There appears to be some form of algorythm/check looking for a pattern. Not sure why, as there will be a mailout error if the tagret is incorrect. My R/t works in the same way as the dev version.
    It needs to find a @ [ampersand] and a . [full stop] between the name.com/net/org etc.

    In my previous example, t@v.ne triggers the Send button.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    Judith Donoghue
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Formby, UK
    Posts
    206

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Hi,

    Thanks for your help Ted but still no joy. I send a test through using the test button on the email profile window and the test comes through fine.
    BUT I still can't send an email using the email features in Alpha5 on the runtime computer. The message area is greyed out and so is the send button even after entering the email address. It's a mystery

  15. #15
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Jude,
    This is getting silly now.
    Back to basics.
    Have the Runtime PC's which fail got exactly the same mail configuration? Do the ones which work have the same config?
    Are you using Active Directory?
    Are the PC's able to mailout in any event?
    Do the PC's share a name?
    If you replicate the information on a working mailout config. and the button is still greyed out I suggests the problem is on the PC and its setup.
    I presume you have reinstalled the RT?
    I can't remember whether you are using the Alpha Client or Default. Try the other one.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    Judith Donoghue
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Formby, UK
    Posts
    206

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Still haven't managed to get emailing up and running on the Run Time Version. I have attached two files which show an example of the errors when I try to enter anything into the greyed out message area. I have also attached a sample of the email screen.

    This is so frustrating as on my development version I click a button and the email appears on screen ready to send with all the fields filling automatically. The people with the runtime version are having to open their email program and copy and paste the email addresses from Alpha 5 and amend the text to be relevant to each record which is very time consuming.

  17. #17
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Judith, Ted asked a number of useful questions of you. They seem to have been ignored (unless you're exchanging private emails with him) in your reply.

  18. #18
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Judith, the error suggests that the e-mail formatting may be at fault.
    Suggest you check the HTML/Plain Text/Rich Text settings.

    Tom. No one ever sends me private e-mails.:o
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  19. #19
    Member
    Real Name
    Judith Donoghue
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Formby, UK
    Posts
    206

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Hi Ted thank you for your continued support, in answer to your earlier message:

    All the computers have the same mail configuration.
    I am using Active Directory.
    The PC's mailout without any problems.
    The PC's have individual names.
    I have reinstalled RunTime, and I have used both Alpha Client and Outlook on the profiles and on both the test emails work.
    It is literally the message area that is greyed out, all the merge buttons and insert command buttons along the bottom of the message area are working.
    I am at a loss, but we have an IT Manager (I am more of an end user than a development person) who is going to have a look at the PC set up for me.

  20. #20
    Member
    Real Name
    Judith Donoghue
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Formby, UK
    Posts
    206

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    EUREKA - THE SOLUTION.

    I have finally discovered why the email message area was greyed out on the RunTime version of Alpha5, quite by accident. I was about to uninstall Alpha5 Runtime from my colleagues computer and was looking through the program directory for an uninstall icon when I came across a file DHTMLED (a Windows Installer Package) I ran the installer and hey presto the email application works fine. So thank you Ted for your patience and hopefully this might help other people.

  21. #21
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Well how you figured that one out is a lesson for us all.
    I'd never have though of that in a million years.
    Still, sorted now and on record for people to find on the answer.
    Thanks for posting.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  22. #22
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default Re: Greyed out email in runtime version

    Just ran across this problem and spent about 1/2 hour looking for this thead. Judith, if you're still around, thank you for posting the solution!

Similar Threads

  1. Version 8 app with Version 9 Runtime
    By Art123 in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 11:35 PM
  2. Runtime version
    By DonWalton in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2009, 04:19 PM
  3. Which version of Runtime should I use
    By Ted Giles in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2009, 04:19 AM
  4. runtime version
    By Donna MartellottoBoyce in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2004, 07:01 AM
  5. runtime version
    By Debbie Keller in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-20-2004, 06:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •