Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Tree Control Null Sql Server

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Harrison Schwall
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    162

    Default Tree Control Null Sql Server

    A tree with filtering does not work with Null values. Filter works when selection is not Null/empty.

    My data stored with SQL Server 2008 Express. Table columns allow nulls.

    How can I get the tree to display the Null records allowing me to click/filter?

    Tree has Three Levels: Sheet,Room,Area.
    See attached screen Tree1.jpg displays tree with fineart selected and display "" and not filtering to display the Null/empty records.

    Selecting other in the column filters as expected.

    I cannot find a setting in Alpha Tree Control for handing null values.

    I see that if I was using a DBF it would display "empty" in the tree.

    Is there also a way to set a label for "Empty" to also display in Tree ?

    Two quesions. Displaying Null and setting a label to display for the null.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Harrison Schwall
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    162

    Default Re: Tree Control Null Sql Server

    Anybody... suggestions...

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Harrison Schwall
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    162

    Smile Re: Tree Control Null Sql Server

    SOLVED.
    Since I am using SQL Server Express I created a View.

    HOW DID I DO IT?

    By Alphas SQL Genie building the SQL statement. see attached file: sql_genie.jpg.

    The Genie allows "Insert Expression" to enter my Alpha Basic Function Code...IF() statement.

    Next I need SQLServer syntax and this was done by selecting from the Alpha menu Query/Show Native Syntax. See attached file: nativesql.jpg. I selected the SQLServer Syntax on the left side of screen and under "Syntax Column" label. I copied the Native SQLserver Syntax to the clipboard.

    Then using Microsoft "SQL Server Management Studio" to create new View by pasting in Alphas SQLServer Native Code statement and adding

    "Create View" "your_view_name" as
    "clipboard statement pasted here"

    and execute to create view on sql server.

    Lastly I built the necessary grids/reports from Sql Servers database View just created above.

    Hope this helps others...

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Tree Control Null Sql Server

    Thanks Harrison. Always great to see a thread with a solution!
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




Similar Threads

  1. Tree Navigator shows NULL
    By keynova in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2010, 08:03 PM
  2. sql.data() element is null
    By leec2000 in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-08-2010, 05:00 PM
  3. Not Null Columns in SQL Server
    By njguy in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-04-2010, 12:16 PM
  4. Date update from null (SQL)
    By GarthMc in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2009, 05:18 PM
  5. Tree view control won't refresh and records corrupted when tree navigation used
    By rmcgaffic in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2009, 08:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •