Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Host Headers on Remote Server

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Gene Hammond
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oakdale, CA
    Posts
    12

    Default Host Headers on Remote Server

    I'm new to Alpha Five but not to web development. Have used Dreamweaver with .asp and Dot Net with ASPX for many years and have worked with remote ISPs in both environments.
    Now that I have secured a VPS for Alpha Server and am setting it up, I find that it only supports one IP address per Server license (I'm pretty sure about this but correct me if I'm wrong).

    This is contrary to what all other environments I have worked in allow and even against the whole policy for the need for IP addresses which require justification. There is no reason, any server written today cannot support multiple sites under one IP and server license.

    There is a serious need to make something similar to host headers or an alternate method to allow multiple Sites to run under one server with the same IP address.

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Gene Hammond
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oakdale, CA
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Host Headers on Remote Server

    As I search around the forum, I find tons of references to hosting multiple sites with one Server and one or more IPs. Some reference Using Apache others talk about various tricks and problems with shared local variables and limited or expanded version of WAS, etc.

    There does not seem to be a clear/clean answer to this. Any clarity would be appreciated.

    Gene

  3. #3
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,660

    Default Re: Host Headers on Remote Server

    The Application Server does not currently support virtual hosting. To host multiple sites on the same server, you must use multiple server instances, each bound to a distinct IP address & port combination.

    Lenny Forziati
    Vice President, Internet Products and Technical Services
    Alpha Software Corporation

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Gene Hammond
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oakdale, CA
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Host Headers on Remote Server

    Quote Originally Posted by Lenny Forziati View Post
    The Application Server does not currently support virtual hosting. To host multiple sites on the same server, you must use multiple server instances, each bound to a distinct IP address & port combination.
    Thanks for clarifying this. Since you said "does not currently support virtual hosting"... my question now becomes do you plan on doing so and if yes, do you have a time-frame for this?

Similar Threads

  1. App Server setup on a remote server
    By ebm in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-02-2013, 12:05 AM
  2. can't connect to host/server
    By Al Buchholz in forum QReportBuilder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2009, 03:45 PM
  3. local host works, remote doesn't
    By rdecle01 in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 12:45 PM
  4. Error on server but not local host
    By Hansolo in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2006, 01:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •