Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: .sem & .set files on desktop?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Donny Hartzog
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    13

    Default .sem & .set files on desktop?

    I just found 2 files (.sem & .set) on my desktop and I don't know how they got there. I know they are alpha5 files. Coincidently, I have a report that I can't edit the report layout but I can edit the report data. Any ideas.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,560

    Default Re: .sem & .set files on desktop?

    Quote Originally Posted by dzog View Post
    I just found 2 files (.sem & .set) on my desktop and I don't know how they got there. I know they are alpha5 files. Coincidently, I have a report that I can't edit the report layout but I can edit the report data. Any ideas.
    What message do you get when trying to edit the report layout?

    Did something else happen? A rename of the report, or some other hiccup of some kind?

    What is the name of the report?

    I've seen those files appear when something went astray...

    When you say edit the data, do you mean edit the data set?

    Can you export the report definition with data and send it to me or does that process give an error message?
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Donny Hartzog
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: .sem & .set files on desktop?

    I'll send you an email with error messages and report with data. It all happened about the time I upgraded to 2011 but not exactly sure. Yes I do mean edit the data set. The report name is OpenSalesOrders and the dictionary is salesorder_set.set

Similar Threads

  1. Copies of Set files on the desktop?
    By Raymond Lyons in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-01-2011, 10:56 PM
  2. Set problem, corrupt .SEM file, disappearing indexes
    By Ronald Anusiewicz in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-22-2009, 10:01 AM
  3. .SEM files?
    By michaelwpayton in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-25-2009, 10:51 AM
  4. Copying Set Files (Set, Sem, Sex)
    By Kevin McDuff in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2002, 04:27 PM
  5. .sem file set structure help needed
    By Peggy Davis in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2002, 06:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •