Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: QODBC Errror

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    James Elmore
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default QODBC Errror

    I'm assuming this is a common problem, but I know very little on the subject and the website's minimal FAQ section is lacking and I need a little more guidance.

    I have installed the QODBC file which is in the QReportBuilder folder and can succesfully update my data from Quickbooks but when I wish to import a report from QuickBooks (namely the Standard Profit & Loss Report) I get an error which reads:

    "Database API specific error"
    ...
    "1004 - '[QODBC] Error
    SQL State is: 42S00 while converting ResultSet to DBF table'"

    What am I doing wrong / what can I do to fix it? I'm just trying to generate a report which is a modificationg of QuickBooks' Standard Profit & Loss Report, so getting this to transfer would be a tremendous time saver. Oh, I'm running QuickBooks Premier 2005... if that makes any kind of difference to this situation.

    Thanks,
    James ElmoreQReportBuilderError.bmp

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: QODBC Errror

    Actually not a common problem.

    QB had very limited functionality in the SDK with 2005.

    You'll need to upgrade your QB to a newer version.

    Actually kinda of surprised that you can keep 2005 running...
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    James Elmore
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: QODBC Errror

    Thanks for your prompt professionalism...

    I just updated Quickbooks to the current edition and I managed to refresh all of the data but it froze midway through, stopping on the 'transaction' table. I've made multiple efforts to continue the refresh from that point but I keep getting the same 'uncommon' error from before. Any ideas? I'm running Windows XP.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: QODBC Errror

    Run the QB utility to verify your company file's data.

    You may need to rebuild the company file ( a utility) or build a portable backup and restore from it.

    Sometimes, although rare, there are issues with QB's data that need to be fixed...
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Using Checked Filter row with Tree control gives me this errror --
    By Atta in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-09-2012, 07:25 PM
  2. Errror opening Grid table/view: Host/Server Not Found
    By coyotemrh in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 02:33 PM
  3. QODBC
    By ketoman in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-08-2009, 04:05 PM
  4. QODBC R/W - anyone used this?
    By Steve Wood in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-01-2007, 11:43 PM
  5. select multiple values errror
    By WFaber in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-01-2002, 07:26 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •