Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Buliding Customised Report from SalesByCustomerDetail Report

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Buliding Customised Report from SalesByCustomerDetail Report

    I am attempting to build a report by selecting the SalesByCustomerDetail report as my "starting table." After answering all the prompted questions, QReport attempts to create the top line table from which I can then create the report, but returns an error message: "Could not create passive-linked table. Error reported was: Could not refresh data in the table." Then I hit okay and another message appears: "Could not get data from QuickBooks report. Error reported was: Could not refresh data in table."

    If I choose the SalesByCustomerSummary report, the process proceeds without issue, except for the fact that that report does not have the data I need to work with. Any help or suggestions on this error would be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Buliding Customised Report from SalesByCustomerDetail Report

    You omitted several key pieces of information it turns out as I have no problem creating said report!

    What version and build of QReportBuilder (QRB) and the QODBC driver (found in Help-->About...)?
    What version of QuickBooks (QB)?
    Any filters / arguments used in the SQL definition that is created?
    Any open dialog boxes in QB (which can prevent any user (which QRB is treated as such) from doing anything until it is closed?
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Buliding Customised Report from SalesByCustomerDetail Report

    Please run the QB utility to. Verify your QB company file
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Buliding Customised Report from SalesByCustomerDetail Report

    Thanks for the replies. It turns out that my filters were too restrictive.

  5. #5
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Buliding Customised Report from SalesByCustomerDetail Report

    Quote Originally Posted by tcw0901 View Post
    Thanks for the replies. It turns out that my filters were too restrictive.
    Glad to hear it's working now. Thanks for the feedback....
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Merging two Report Codes into a new Report - Not output Related
    By bluize in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-13-2010, 12:58 PM
  2. Error running report in TabUI - Print Report (PDF)
    By envisionsolutions in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-27-2010, 05:55 PM
  3. PDF report won't print if report is filtered
    By walhoney in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 04:45 PM
  4. Need: Report Writing Guru - Have to produce a Top 50 report
    By KeithW in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-12-2006, 06:31 PM
  5. Web report similar to filtered desktop report
    By Robert Rough in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-08-2005, 11:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •