New call-to-action
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Duplication of records in Report

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Duplication of records in Report

    I wanted to say thanks for the help with my report questions during the webinar on Thursday. I have the report built and it is almost reporting the data the way I need it. I am building a report that shows daily customer activity from the InvoiceLine table. In the report, I need the customer name, information from the memo field which further describes the transaction, the invoice number, the total dollar amount for the transaction, and the total pounds for the transaction (the invoicelinequanity field). I created calculated fields to total the dollar amount and pounds for each invoice and for the entire report. The issue I'm having is that the report is reporting the my information more than once, and the number of times it lists it is equal to the number of lines that were on the invoice. This makes sense, as it is data from the InvoiceLine table. However, I only need the inforamtion to show once. Is there a way to make this happen?

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,663

    Default Re: Duplication of records in Report

    Make a grouping for the customer name field and then put the customer info in the header and out of the detail band.

    Thanks for attending the webinar. See you next time..
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Duplication of records in Report

    Thank you. That fixed it.

    Is there a way to prompt the user to set the date they want the report to be created for? Right now, I have the filter set for a particular date, but I would like the report to ask the user which date to query prior to running the report. This would be easier for the users here, versus having to enter the report design layout and change the date filter to anotehr date.

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,663

    Default Re: Duplication of records in Report

    Quote Originally Posted by tcw0901 View Post
    Thank you. That fixed it.

    Is there a way to prompt the user to set the date they want the report to be created for? Right now, I have the filter set for a particular date, but I would like the report to ask the user which date to query prior to running the report. This would be easier for the users here, versus having to enter the report design layout and change the date filter to anotehr date.
    2 ways

    1. Use the ask variable in the report filter.

    2. build an xdialog prompt, make the variables global, and use those variables in the report filter.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Duplication of records in Report

    Thanks. Got it working. Now one additional problem. When the data was in the "Detail" section, it displayed uniformly on the report (i.e. there was uniform space between each row of data). Now that the data is in the group header section (to supress the duplication of data), the data is not shown uniformly. Can this be fixed, or is it a property of putting data in the header section?

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,663

    Default Re: Duplication of records in Report

    Quote Originally Posted by tcw0901 View Post
    Thanks. Got it working. Now one additional problem. When the data was in the "Detail" section, it displayed uniformly on the report (i.e. there was uniform space between each row of data). Now that the data is in the group header section (to supress the duplication of data), the data is not shown uniformly. Can this be fixed, or is it a property of putting data in the header section?
    Please show an image of what you mean....
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Duplication of records in Report

    report picture.png

    As you see, there are gaps between some rows on the report, but its not uniform.

  8. #8
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,663

    Default Re: Duplication of records in Report

    Quote Originally Posted by tcw0901 View Post
    report picture.png

    As you see, there are gaps between some rows on the report, but its not uniform.
    You haven't turned off the detail band.reportdetailpropertiescheckbox.PNG
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Duplication of records in Report

    That did it! Thanks!

  10. #10
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,663

    Default Re: Duplication of records in Report

    Quote Originally Posted by tcw0901 View Post
    That did it! Thanks!
    Great - see you on Thursday and you can share the solution...
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Duplication of records in Report

    Will do.

Similar Threads

  1. Report issues - duplication of one record
    By ChristJC in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-14-2012, 03:38 AM
  2. Duplication Error
    By leetv in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-30-2010, 12:22 PM
  3. Duplication of Records in Report
    By kyosadls in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 10:46 AM
  4. Data Duplication
    By Jcian in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-10-2009, 05:46 PM
  5. record duplication
    By vasant panjabi in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 07-15-2000, 03:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •