Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Showing Null Records in a Report

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Showing Null Records in a Report

    Thanks for the help during the webinar on Thursday. I finished the report and it working perfectly. I had one additional question, though. Say I have a vendor that did not donate any product for the week. Currently the report does not include the vendor. I would like the report to show the vendor, just with zeros for each category. I this possible? I'm attaching a screen shot of the report so you can understand my question better

    report picture.png

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Showing Null Records in a Report

    Yes

    That requires that we start with the vendor table...
    I don't think there is an option on that QB report to show all vendors...
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Showing Null Records in a Report

    Ok. With that change made, what would I need to do? I checked the options for the report data set and "always show data from the parent table" is selected, but it still doesnt report vendors with zero activity.

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Showing Null Records in a Report

    Quote Originally Posted by tcw0901 View Post
    Ok. With that change made, what would I need to do? I checked the options for the report data set and "always show data from the parent table" is selected, but it still doesnt report vendors with zero activity.
    No, not there... Look at the QB report in QB and see if it allows the QB report to show all vendors...
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  5. #5
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Showing Null Records in a Report

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Buchholz View Post
    No, not there... Look at the QB report in QB and see if it allows the QB report to show all vendors...
    Looks like we need to make a new set with the vendor table as the primary table.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Tyrone Wade
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Showing Null Records in a Report

    I did make a new data set with the vendor table as the primary table and the billitemline table as the secondary table. I had to change some filters to match this data profile. I used the same calulated fields as we created in the webinar, and the report comes out the same... vendors with no activity do not show on the report. It turns out that not having them on this report is not a big deal, but I would like to make it work, should I need it to do so in the future.

  7. #7
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Showing Null Records in a Report

    Quote Originally Posted by tcw0901 View Post
    I did make a new data set with the vendor table as the primary table and the billitemline table as the secondary table. I had to change some filters to match this data profile. I used the same calulated fields as we created in the webinar, and the report comes out the same... vendors with no activity do not show on the report. It turns out that not having them on this report is not a big deal, but I would like to make it work, should I need it to do so in the future.
    The filter needs to change then...

    I don't recall exactly what we did, but filtering on a date range comes to mind.

    Let's fix it on Thursday...
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. DropDown Box problem....Showing value for NULL entries
    By leetv in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-27-2011, 05:37 PM
  2. How to not display null in report
    By MFAUZIM in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 09:57 PM
  3. Child records not showing up in report
    By Gil Smith in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-06-2008, 02:39 PM
  4. Records not showing up in report
    By James Reysen in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-11-2002, 07:26 PM
  5. Averaging with some null or zero records
    By Dennis Eaton in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-25-2000, 12:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •