Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Change records in child table in set

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Change records in child table in set

    I have a form based on a set with 6 tables. I want to change the values in a field of a child table (1:many with topparent). I want to change the values of this field in all records.
    The child table is displayed in Browse3 on the form that is active.
    'consultordcpo' is the name of the child table.
    so...
    I created the following code:

    'Date Created: 26-Aug-2011 10:49:31 AM
    'Last Updated: 26-Aug-2011 11:41:23 AM
    'Created By : David
    'Updated By : David
    'Create a new variable called 'TmpRankOnOrder' and set its value to '1
    dim cpotbl As P
    dim Shared TmpRankOnOrder AS N

    TmpRankOnOrder = 1

    'Activate object 'BROWSE3:Rankonorder' in current form.
    topparent:BROWSE3:Rankonorder.activate()

    'get a pointer to the consultordcpo.dbf table... the one that Browse3 is based on
    cpotbl = table.get("consultordcpo")

    'go to 1st record
    cpotbl.fetch_first()
    cpotbl.change_begin()
    cpotbl.Rankonorder = TmpRankOnOrder
    cpotbl.change_end(.t.)

    cpotbl.fetch_next()

    while .NOT. cpotbl.fetch_eof()
    TmpRankOnOrder = TmpRankOnOrder + 1
    cpotbl.change_begin()
    cpotbl.Rankonorder = TmpRankOnOrder
    cpotbl.change_end(.t.)
    cpotbl.fetch_next()
    end while



    'Refresh data in current form at parent level.
    'Can only resynch data in View mode, so save record first to be sure that layout is in View mode.
    topparent.Commit()
    topparent.Resynch()
    topparent.Refresh_Layout()

    'Disallow editing of records in current form at parent level.
    topparent.allow_change(.f.)

    end
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    The code seems to change the values correctly... BUT I have to push the button for each individual record in the child table ie in the browse.

    The while loop does not seem to be functioning...

    What am i doing wrong?

    #2
    Re: Change records in child table in set

    Hi, David.

    When you say...
    I want to change the values of this field in all records
    Do you mean all records in the child table, or only those records in the child that are related to the current parent table record?

    Comment


      #3
      Re: Change records in child table in set

      Hi Tom..

      just the records in the child table that are related to the current parent record.

      Comment


        #4
        Re: Change records in child table in set

        I'll have to judge if there is needed a restrict at the end. The script doesn't change that and since it is performed at the table level, that command will not effect whether this script can change the field values.

        Code:
        'Create a new variable called 'TmpRankOnOrder' and set its value to '1
        	dim Shared TmpRankOnOrder AS N
        	TmpRankOnOrder = 1
        
        'Activate object 'BROWSE3:Rankonorder' in current form.
        	topparent:BROWSE3:Rankonorder.activate()
        
        'get a pointer to the consultordcpo.dbf table... the one that Browse3 is based on
        	dim cpotbl as P
        	cpotbl = table.get("consultordcpo")
        
        'go to 1st record
        	cpotbl.fetch_first()
        	while .NOT. cpotbl.fetch_eof()
        		cpotbl.change_begin()
        		cpotbl.Rankonorder = TmpRankOnOrder
        		cpotbl.change_end(.t.)
        		
        		TmpRankOnOrder = TmpRankOnOrder + 1
        	cpotbl.fetch_next()
        	end while
        
        'Refresh data in current form at parent level.
        'Can only resynch data in View mode, so save record first to be sure that layout is in View mode.
        	topparent.Commit()
        	topparent.Resynch()
        	topparent.Refresh_Layout()
        
        'Disallow editing of records in current form at parent level.
        	topparent.allow_change(.f.)			
        
        end
        Mike W
        __________________________
        "I rebel in at least small things to express to the world that I have not completely surrendered"

        Comment


          #5
          Re: Change records in child table in set

          Thanks Mike... code results in same as mine above... one record is renumbered at a time.

          Comment


            #6
            Re: Change records in child table in set

            I think this is a case where your script should be using the

            <tbl>.get_cursor()
            Method

            From Alphapedia:

            The primary motivation for this method is to allow you to use Xbasic to get a pointer to the table that an Embedded Browse is based on, and then to safely loop over the records in that table and manipulate the data in that table. If your Xbasic loop used the table pointer itself, rather than a cursor, your script may not work reliably. This is because you have no control over events that cause the Browse to repaint, and when the Browse repaints, it might move the record pointer.

            Comment


              #7
              Re: Change records in child table in set

              That works!!!

              Thanks again Tom!

              Here is the code that works:

              'Date Created: 26-Aug-2011 03:52:46 PM
              'Last Updated: 26-Aug-2011 03:53:18 PM
              'Created By : David
              'Updated By : David
              'This script renumbers the RankOnOrder field in records from the consultordcpo table

              dim tbl as p
              dim t as p
              dim RankCount As N

              RankCount = 0

              'get a pointer to the SAME table instance that the embedded browse is based on.


              tbl = Browse3.table_get()

              'Get a cursor on the table instance
              t = tbl.get_cursor()

              t.fetch_first()
              while .not. t.fetch_eof()
              RankCount = RankCount + 1
              t.change_begin()
              t.rankonorder = RankCount
              t.change_end(.t.)
              t.fetch_next()
              end while

              end

              Comment

              Working...
              X