Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Port that needs to open for communication from a webserver to database server

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Eric Gallant
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default Port that needs to open for communication from a webserver to database server

    Hello all,

    I'm hoping someone can help us out. We are working on setting up a webserver that will communicate with the database server to pull information and send it back in. The webserver is in a DMZ and I'm looking for the port that is used internally so I can allow traffic through the firewall from the database server to the webserver.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    ACT_Tech

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,814

    Default Re: Port that needs to open for communication from a webserver to database server

    It depends on the database server.

    In this case, it sounds like you are pulling from the dbserver to the webserver - so the port is determined by the dbserver.

    If you need to open a port to get to the webserver, assuming it is alpha, the default would be 80, but you can change it from inside the webserver configuration.

    does that help?

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Eric Gallant
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Port that needs to open for communication from a webserver to database server

    Larry,

    Thanks for your reply. The webserver and the database server are on the same HyperV server. Would it still be port 80? I would think there is an internal port that Alpha talks to clients through. Example. User A logs into Alpha from their computer. Would that be using port 80?

    Thanks,

    Eric

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,814

    Default Re: Port that needs to open for communication from a webserver to database server

    Alpha is a webserver, just like IIS.

    You configure the port that Alpha listens on in the alpha server properties. (Default = 80)

    You configure the alpha server to talk to the database on whatever port and/or IP address the db server is configured to.

    The client talks to Alpha and Alpha talks to the DB.

    Even if the server is virtual, it still has a unique IP address and it's own set of ports, right? That is how the client talks to Alpha.

    For more info, I'd have to know more about your server setup.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: Port that needs to open for communication from a webserver to database server

    The webserver and the database server are on the same HyperV server.
    this is how alpha works with database server.
    the database server has connection properties, to use mysql as an example: hostname: localhost, port: 3306, user: root or someone with enough privileges, password something.
    so in alpha you create a connection string incorporating those info. then you create components. then you place the components in the a5w page.
    publish all this stuff. now when you serve the a5w page if there is nothing but static display then that is it it will display just like any other page. but if you have dynamic content pulled from the database server then the component will do that and alpha web application server (WAS) will process those request and pass along the converted HTML code to the server and the server will show with the dynamic content.

    does not matter where each of these servers are located for the database server you need to know the hostname, port,user,password to construct the connection string in alpha. then rest is easy so to say.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Eric Gallant
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Port that needs to open for communication from a webserver to database server

    Thanks all for your help. I think we got it sorted.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-25-2014, 06:22 PM
  2. A5 Server on Port 80 - IIS on Port 88 :: Port 88 Blocked by ISP
    By spacetanker in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-08-2012, 01:30 PM
  3. App Server as a webserver?
    By AlexOZ in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 09:55 AM
  4. Ajax/Javascript works on local server but not webserver
    By eswindhauser in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-2010, 06:37 PM
  5. Open Port vs. security
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-15-2007, 06:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •