Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Geocoding an address

  1. #1
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,619

    Default Geocoding an address

    I poked around a lot, and am not sure what to do / what to use to geocode an address.

    Step 1: User registers to a site with their name and address.

    Step 2: We use an Insert event to get the lat and lon that fills the sQL Location field --- but how to get that lat and lon?


    Google has a geocoding API, but its licensing terms require you to display the Google map. Not necessary or desirable in so many situations. Further, the free version of Google's API is limited to 2,500 requests per day, 100,000 per day with Premier and there's a chance the customer I'm building for may outrun that (yeah, be nice to jump off that bridge when we get there).

    I see there are HTML 5 geocoding and geolocation APIs but I'm not sure they fit the bill.

    Any suggestions?
    -Steve


  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,619

    Default Re: Geocoding an address

    Well, Martin Heller pointed out to me that A5 has a geocoding function. It's in the wiki and I should have known. A search on "geocoding" was all you need.
    -Steve


  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic chadbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chad Brown
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Aurora, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,408

    Default Re: Geocoding an address

    Google free api also means that you cannot use it on a site that you charge a fee. I have heard that the Premier is 10k per year per domain.
    Chad Brown

  4. #4
    Member The Mage's Avatar
    Real Name
    William McGowen
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    287

    Default Re: Geocoding an address

    10K is a little too high. It squeezes out the little guy, and probably quite a few medium size guys too.

    There was an alternate listed though with open maps, Nominatim, and there was no limit with this one according to the wiki.

    Another option is to keep track of how many requests are made in a day, and once you reach 2,500 switch to Nominatim. Or, just a thought, could you proxy it out so the requests could come from different sites? With 3 proxies and the original that could up the numbers to 10k per day. (As long as this isn't seen as fraud.)

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic chadbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chad Brown
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Aurora, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,408

    Default Re: Geocoding an address

    Supposedly Bing maps from Microsoft is free.
    Chad Brown

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,641

    Default Re: Geocoding an address

    In most cases the end user will use the result of the developed map free, in some cases where organizations want to use the information in a closed environment, then that's a different matter and one for the client to come to grips with. 2,500 look ups to the API is very generous, - also keep in mind as your database grows - so does your own long/lat database that will become a self-serving resource for lookups in your own database. For example Street/Cty/Town - then look up your own database - then allow the client or user to drag the pin to the exact spot. - Works well.
    Last edited by peteconway; 10-05-2011 at 08:30 AM.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Clipper87's Avatar
    Real Name
    Frank
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    1,891

    Default Re: Geocoding an address

    Forget Nominatim, the results of geocoding are so bad thet they are not usable. It is no longer an option either in v11 to use that service.
    Frank

    Tell me and I'll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I'll understand

  8. #8
    Member The Mage's Avatar
    Real Name
    William McGowen
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    287

    Default Re: Geocoding an address

    I know, at least at the beginning 2,500 shouldn't be an issue, but locations are a big part of it, and if I get a large number of users inputting data at the same time it could be possible, especially with a bulk input from excel files. But this is still going to be a rare event, so I am thinking that a little code could be used to count how many times in a day the function is run, and then if it hits 2,500, then it is simply put into a queue to be run the next day.

    Edit--

    I should mention that I am talking about the app I am developing.
    Last edited by The Mage; 10-06-2011 at 09:18 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Use Same Address
    By lgrupido in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-21-2010, 12:16 PM
  2. Geocoding of Addresses
    By RTRL in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-11-2009, 04:13 PM
  3. Requesting Geocoding information from website
    By George Corder in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-22-2004, 08:41 AM
  4. Getting an IP Address
    By Steven Devaney in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-24-2002, 05:25 AM
  5. Mailing address vs. Street Address
    By Eugene Volz in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-19-2001, 12:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •