New call-to-action
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ver 9 app with Ver 11 runtime

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Falkenstein
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default Ver 9 app with Ver 11 runtime

    Hi,

    I'm upgrading an application shared by about 15 desktops from version 9 to version 11 and I would rather not do it all at on time. Can I upgrade the runtimes one at a time to ver 11 and still run my version 9 app? Then when all my runtimes are installed upgrade my app to version 11? In the past I've always shut it all down and installed it all at once.

    Thanks, Bob

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,317

    Default Re: Ver 9 app with Ver 11 runtime

    The oft repeated advice here is to never run the app with a different version than was used to develop it. If I were in your shoes I'd make very very sure the v9 app will run cleanly under v11 before installing the v11 runtimes.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Falkenstein
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Ver 9 app with Ver 11 runtime

    Tom,

    Not what I was hoping to hear. I've done some testing and everything looks good and I'll do some more before I upgrade. I was just hoping to ease the burden a bit by dealing with the problems on the desktops first. I was also hoping for an escape route if things go wrong by simply reverting my app back to the older version on the server.

    Bob

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default Re: Ver 9 app with Ver 11 runtime

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob F View Post
    Tom,

    Not what I was hoping to hear. I've done some testing and everything looks good and I'll do some more before I upgrade. I was just hoping to ease the burden a bit by dealing with the problems on the desktops first. I was also hoping for an escape route if things go wrong by simply reverting my app back to the older version on the server.

    Bob
    Bob, I think you'll be OK. As Tom said, "If I were in your shoes I'd make very very sure the v9 app will run cleanly under v11 before installing the v11 runtimes" but it sounds like you've already tested it (hopefully thoroughly) and just want to be extra sure by letting a few users run it awhile before giving it to everyone. If you have the ability to do that, I think it's a great idea. (Of course, whenever I test something it always works for the user but I try to understand that this isn't true for everybody. Yeah, right!kicking_n_laffing.gif)

    If you want a little extra security, you can install the v11 runtime on a few workstations and leave the v9 runtime also. That way they can even have two icons - one to run in v11 and one to run in v9 so they can revert to v9 immediately if they run into a problem. That actually has two advantages: (1) they can switch to v9 and lose almost no time if a v11 error occurs and (2) you will know it's not a v11 issue if they switch to v9 and the problem is still there.

    Of course, there's always a downside - you may have to beat some of them over the head to get them to use v11 as the 'standard' version. In that case, just give them a v11 icon and change the icon properties to use the v9 runtime if they run into trouble. They may lose a little more time that way but at least it will be a quick fix once it's reported.

    Just remember that just like some things in v9 won't run in v11, updates made to the app in v11 may not run at in v9. I did something similar once and had a couple IF version() = 9 tests in my code so it would run as needed for whatever version was currently in use. Those IF statements got removed once the complete conversion was made. (Removing them didn't take long because I used my App Analyzer to search for "version()" to find out where each one was.)

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Ver 9 app with Ver 11 runtime

    I also suggest to make absolutely certain you can go back to v9 once the application is opened in v11 (have a full backup of the v9 application/project without ever having opened it in a later version.....I say this as I have twice had an earlier version of an application that once opened in a later version would no longer run!! And could not fix it directly but had to resort to a backup made just prior.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Falkenstein
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Ver 9 app with Ver 11 runtime

    Thanks Guys,
    I think what I'll do is install Ver 11 runtime while still using ver 9 runtime on all my workstations as it seems this is whats going to take all the time. Some of the workstations are older and will need the ms .net framework files installed and some of the workstations have the Internet blocked making it all a bit slower. Then when I launch my ver 11 app I can just startup the preinstalled ver 11 runtimes on the workstations.

    I also suggest to make absolutely certain you can go back to v9 once the application is opened in v11 (have a full backup of the v9 application/project without ever having opened it in a later version.....I say this as I have twice had an earlier version of an application that once opened in a later version would no longer run!! And could not fix it directly but had to resort to a backup made just prior.
    Thanks mike,will do. I also make a working copy of the app on my computer then unplug my computer from the network to make sure I don't accidentally open the app on the server during my "testing" period. I've made that mistake before.

    Bob

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrading app - ver.9 to v10/10.5
    By enstorms in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 12:08 PM
  2. VER 10 - Web App
    By sixkidsrob in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-07-2010, 10:52 AM
  3. Web App Server ver. no?
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-28-2006, 07:22 PM
  4. File locking (ver 6 compared to ver 4.5)
    By Martin in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-22-2005, 10:45 AM
  5. FYI Ver 5 & Ver 6 scripts
    By Ronald Anusiewicz in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-27-2004, 06:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •