Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    David Pugh
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orlando FL
    Posts
    5

    Default Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    Converting from Alpha4, V7 to Alpha5, V9. Need help in converting this field rule.

    Parent=OP_CKHDR
    Field Type Width Decimal Places

    1. NUMBER C 8
    2. DATE D 8
    3. BILLCODE C 10
    4. NAME C 40
    5. AMOUNT N 10 2

    Child=DETAIL
    Field Type Width Decimal Places
    2. NUMBER C 8
    9. ACCTCODE C 15
    10. DESC C 40
    11. TAXABLE C 1
    12. AMOUNT1 N 8 2

    Field rule forOP_CKHDR->AMOUNT (Field 5)
    Type : Numeric
    Value : Summary
    Summary of : DETAIL->AMOUNT1
    Summary function : Total
    Ignore Mode : None
    Posting : Yes
    Auto Advance : No

    Tried total(Ck_Detail->Amount1,grp->ckhdr) and it works in the Expresion Builder but get the following error when I try to save.
    "Cannot use function in this context" I need this value stored in the Parent Amount field.
    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    This function is a report writer function, not intended for table level field rules or other expressions. While the function may perform in some areas outside of the report writer, its use there is not supported.
    You'll have to convert to a tablesum() or dbsum() expression.

    I can't tell if your child table is "Detail" or CK_Detail".

    Try
    tablesum("Ck_Detail","Number = "+quote(Number),"Amount1")
    or
    tablesum("Detail","Number = "+quote(Number),"Amount1")

    ass appropriate.
    Last edited by Stan Mathews; 01-20-2012 at 03:41 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    David Pugh
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orlando FL
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    Thanks for the help. Think my problem was my child was named Ck-detail. I renamed to Ck_detail and it works. Alpha must not like the -.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    Alpha must not like the -.
    Indeed not. How would Alpha decide if you were subtracting the values in two fields/tables or referring to a hypenated table name? Best to refrain from using punctuation in a name, underscores if you feel you must punctuate.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    David Pugh
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orlando FL
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    Last post was in 2008, have never been able to convert my app to Alpha5! Give up then try again, give up---. Now can not get simple things to work.
    Set called Register

    Parent is Header with these fields
    Number, C, 8
    Hdrdate, D, 8
    name, c, 8
    hdramt, n, 8, 2

    Child is Detail with these fields and linked many to one by Num
    Num, c, 8
    detdate, d, 8
    unit, c, 8
    detamt, n, 8, 2

    field rules set detail fields detdate and unit to Header fields Hdrdate and Name. Works great in Alpha 4 but not in Alpha 5

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    Works great in Alpha 4 but not in Alpha 5
    Correct, V5 and later do not have field rules for sets. You should be able to create a posting field rule to do that.
    There can be only one.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Mike Breitbach
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    I started with A3 back in the 80's advanced through the Alpha 4's, currently using Alpha4v7. It was never too bad converting until Alpha 5. I have Alpha 5V11 but I just can't get the hang of it. I have written most of the reports etc but it just seems like a different beast than A4. This is what I use it for....I have a trucking company. I copy last months data base into a new data base and empty it. I enter 800+ loads...date, BL #, to, from, product, wt, rate, driver #. My reports take this info and produce an invoice by custormer and a report by driver...in order to pay them. Each month I just made a new data base. As I mentioned in A4 I just clicked on utilities, copy data base, entered the new name and all my reports and designed transferred. It is probably easy in A5 but I'm just not getting it. Wish there was a way to get some specific help to get the entire conversion done for less than $10,000.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,468

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    Correct, V5 and later do not have field rules for sets. You should be able to create a posting field rule to do that.
    Was doing a search about field rules and I came across this post. In version 11, Alpha will let you create a field rule for a set although those rules are stored only in the table not the set. In the builder for a calculated rule you can select fields from different tables and then Alpha converts the expression. Which is probably not the best way to do this, since we can now create field rules that are form specific. But it did work when I tried it.

    In the builder my expression initially looked like this:
    IF(DATE()-EMPLOYEE->HIREDATE >= 90,24,ROUND(TOT_HRS/30,2))

    And then Alpha converted it to this:
    IF(DATE()-LOOKUPD("F",FILENO,"Hiredate","employee","Fileno") >=90,24,ROUND(TOT_HRS/30,2))

    I am curious if anyone else has tried this...the link in my set was FILENO.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    Possibly a question of semantics. In Alpha 4 and earlier as I understand, you could build field rules for a set stored in the set definition. With Alpha 5 and later all field rules became table based. You can build a field rule such as

    IF(DATE()-LOOKUPD("F",FILENO,"Hiredate","employee","Fileno") >=90,24,ROUND(TOT_HRS/30,2))

    but it has nothing to do with the set. That expression doesn't care whether the employee table is part of a set or not and will work if the employee table is dropped from the current set. I do find it quite helpful that the expression builder for a set allows one to specify multiple tables from the set and then converts portions involving child tables to expressions independent of the set.
    There can be only one.

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,468

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    I did miss that ability to have set based field rules - why do you suppose that changed?
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,496

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    Quote Originally Posted by MoGrace View Post
    I did miss that ability to have set based field rules - why do you suppose that changed?
    Data inconsistencies.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,062

    Default Re: Converting Field rule from A4 to A5

    https://free-lancer2.com/
    We offer a conversion service.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    https://exampleltd.example-software.com/
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

Similar Threads

  1. Field Rule lookup() not working?? Looking up character field from another table
    By joannristau in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-11-2011, 03:40 PM
  2. Converting field of type Time to Character
    By Rhett Scott in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2009, 01:01 AM
  3. Converting old Action Scripts in Field Rules
    By MoGrace in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-10-2008, 06:54 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2006, 02:15 PM
  5. Converting character to a date field?
    By Howard Berg in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-11-2000, 06:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •