Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Compare table function to display in 2 columns

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Compare table function to display in 2 columns

    This is the code for a function to display the diffeence between 2 tables.
    It has been great. I could use an improvement.
    Can the display be in 2 columns if the results are longer than 15 items?

    Here is the code:

    table1 = ui_get_table("Table One","Table")
    table2 = ui_get_table("Table Two","Table")


    'table1 = ui_get_table("tmonuord.dbf","Table")
    'table2 = ui_get_table("monuordxx.dbf","Table")

    if table1 = "" .or. table2 = "" .or. (table1 = table2)
    ui_msg_box("Alert","Invalid table selection.")
    end if

    struct1 = table.external_field_name_get(table1,"N,T,W,D,R")
    struct2 = table.external_field_name_get(table2,"N,T,W,D,R")

    found_same = word_in_common(struct1,struct2,crlf())
    ui_msg_box("Same fields",found_same)

    unq_to_table1 = word_subtract(struct1,found_same,crlf())
    ui_msg_box("Only in "+table1+" (or different.)",unq_to_table1)

    unq_to_table2 = word_subtract(struct2,found_same,crlf())
    ui_msg_box("Only in "+table2+" (or different.)",unq_to_table2)

    #2
    Re: Compare table function to display in 2 columns

    This may work for you
    Code:
    vTextC = <<%str%
    #1
    #2
    #3
    #4
    #5
    #6
    #7
    #8
    #9
    #10
    #%str%
    ?
    
    ?f_WrapText( vTextC, 4)
    = 
    1	5
    2	6
    3	7
    4	8
     	9
     	10
    
    ?f_WrapText( vTextC, 5)
    = 
    1	6
    2	7
    3	8
    4	9
    5	10
    
    ?f_WrapText( vTextC, 6)
    = 
    1	7
    2	8
    3	9
    4	10
    5	
    6
    Code:
    'Date Created: 31-Jan-2012 05:43:17 PM
    'Last Updated: 31-Jan-2012 05:43:17 PM
    'Created By  : andy
    'Updated By  : andy
    FUNCTION f_WrapText AS C ( vTextC AS C, vWrapN AS N )
    	
    	OPTION STRICT
    	OPTION ENCRYPTED_TOKENS
    	ON ERROR GOTO ERR_HANDLER
    
    	
    	DIM vCol1C as C
    	DIM vCol2C as C
    	
    	vCol1C = word( vTextC, 1, crlf(), vWrapN )
    	vCol2C = word( vTextC, vWrapN + 1, crlf(), Line_count(vTextC) - vWrapN )
    	
    '	ui_msg_box("",vCol1C)
    '	ui_msg_box("",vCol2C)
    	
    
    	DIM vCount_Col1N as N
    	DIM vCount_Col2N as N
    	vCount_Col1N = line_count(vCol1C)
    	vCount_Col2N = line_count(vCol2C)
    	
    	DIM vMaxLen_Col1N as N
    	FOR EACH foo in vCol1C
    		IF vMaxLen_Col1N < len(foo.value) THEN
    			vMaxLen_Col1N = len(foo.value)
    		END IF
    	NEXT
    	
    	DIM vCountN as N
    	vCountN = max( vCount_Col1N, vCount_Col2N )
    	
    	DIM vReturnC as C
    	DIM vWord_Col1C as C
    	DIM vWord_Col2C as C
    
    	DIM x as N
    	FOR x = 1 to vCountN
    		IF x <= vCount_Col1N THEN
    			vWord_Col1C = word(vCol1C,x,crlf())
    		ELSE
    			vWord_Col1C = ""
    		END IF
    
    		IF x <= vCount_Col2N THEN
    			vWord_Col2C = word(vCol2C,x,crlf())
    		ELSE
    			vWord_Col2C = ""
    		END IF
    		
    		vReturnC = vReturnC + crlf() + padr(vWord_Col1C,vMaxLen_Col1N," ") + chr(9) + vWord_Col2C
    	NEXT
    	f_WrapText = vReturnC
    	END
    '-----------------------------------
    'Error handler
    '-----------------------------------
    ERR_HANDLER:
    	DIM vErrN as N 
    	DIM vMsgC as C
    	vErrN = error_code_get()
    
    	vMsgC = "Error # "+ vErrN + crlf() + error_text_get(vErrN)
    	vMsgC = vMsgC + crlf() + "Script: " + error_script_get()
    	vMsgC = vMsgC + crlf() + "Line #: " + error_line_number_get()
    
    	trace.writeln(vMsgC)
    
    	ui_msg_box("Error", vMsg,UI_ATTENTION_SYMBOL)
    	vMsgC = ""
    	
    	END  
    	
    END FUNCTION
    Andrew

    Comment


      #3
      Re: Compare table function to display in 2 columns

      Thanks for responding.
      How do I incorporate supplied code to the "table compare" code?

      Comment


        #4
        Re: Compare table function to display in 2 columns

        Rather nice, Andrew.

        Mike,


        Having saved/created the funtion in your database you would use it like

        found_same = word_in_common(struct1,struct2,crlf())
        found_same = f_WrapText(found_same, 15)
        ui_msg_box("Same fields",found_same)

        Instead of hard coding the 15 into the script you could also compute the total line count and divide it by two to balance the columns.

        found_same = word_in_common(struct1,struct2,crlf())
        fs_count = line_count(found_same)
        found_same = f_WrapText(found_same, ceiling(fs_count/2))
        ui_msg_box("Same fields",found_same)
        Last edited by Stan Mathews; 02-01-2012, 09:28 AM.
        There can be only one.

        Comment


          #5
          Re: Compare table function to display in 2 columns

          Stan, thanks, that did it.
          I will review it and post the cnew code.

          Comment


            #6
            Re: Compare table function to display in 2 columns

            Herer is the new code.


            table1 = ui_get_table("Table One","Table")
            table2 = ui_get_table("Table Two","Table")
            Dim Tbl1 as p
            Dim Tbl2 as p

            if table1 = "" .or. table2 = "" .or. (table1 = table2)
            ui_msg_box("Alert","Invalid table selection.")
            end if

            struct1 = table.external_field_name_get(table1,"N,T,W,D,R")
            struct2 = table.external_field_name_get(table2,"N,T,W,D,R")

            found_same = word_in_common(struct1,struct2,crlf())
            found_same = f_WrapText(found_same, 25 )
            ui_msg_box("Same fields",found_same)

            Tbl1 = word_subtract(struct1,found_same,crlf())
            unq_to_table1 = word_subtract(struct1,found_same,crlf())
            unq_to_table1 = f_WrapText(found_same, 25 )
            ui_msg_box("Only in "+table1+" (or different.)",unq_to_table1)

            Tbl2 = word_subtract(struct1,found_same,crlf())
            unq_to_table2 = word_subtract(struct2,found_same,crlf())
            unq_to_table2 = f_WrapText(found_same, 25 )
            ui_msg_box("Only in "+table2+" (or different.)",unq_to_table2)

            Comment


              #7
              Re: Compare table function to display in 2 columns

              Hi Mike,

              It would be nice if you could add this code with a little instruction/description as a useful function to the Code Archive Section.
              TIA
              Ton
              Most things are simple but unfortunately only after the first time

              Comment


                #8
                Re: Compare table function to display in 2 columns

                No Problem. See it here:

                http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...y-in-2-columns
                Last edited by MikeData; 02-19-2012, 01:16 PM.

                Comment


                  #9
                  Re: Compare table function to display in 2 columns

                  You might also want to go here and check out Jim Chapman's "Compare Apps" routine. It compares a LOT more than just the table structures. It basically compares everything. It even tells you if the location of objects on the layouts is different; e.g., if you moved a button.

                  I just used it last night and it saved a HUGE amount of time comparing two different versions of the same app. I was pretty sure that the only differences were (a) one form that the customer changed in his version and (b) 4 scripts that I changed in my version. Using this routine it was very easy and took only about 10-15 minutes to verify that I was wrong - I had changed 5 scripts. (Maybe it was less than 10 minutes but it seemed that long. I didn't time it.)

                  Comment


                    #10
                    Re: Compare table function to display in 2 columns

                    Nice to hear from you Cal.
                    Yes, this is a great addition to our collections of utilities.
                    This will help a great deal.

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X