New call-to-action
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Lookup table: Code + Label vs Label

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Marion Taylor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hudson Valley, NY
    Posts
    481

    Default Lookup table: Code + Label vs Label

    I have a table with phasecodes for when things happen during the timespan of a project. Example values are:
    1200, 1st rehearsal
    1250, set construction starts
    1300, 1st performance

    I need a little table to hold qualifiers, such as:
    at
    earlier of
    not later than
    2 months prior to

    My Database is in MSQL.

    I'm wondering if it would be bad practice for the little table to be 1 simple column, with the field set to be the primary key.

    Or, if I really need to have 2 columns, making one column the Code (or ID) and one is the Label (or description)

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,656

    Default Re: Lookup table: Code + Label vs Label

    I guess the only reason to have two columns is if the name of the primary key were to change. if it did, that would screw up all your linked values.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Marion Taylor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hudson Valley, NY
    Posts
    481

    Default Re: Lookup table: Code + Label vs Label

    true.... altho, if I set the updates to cascade, that should work too

    I also need a column for specifying the order or rank, if I need it to be something other than abc....
    MSQL since 2010
    A5V11 since Feb 2012

Similar Threads

  1. How to make a Label display when the button on the menu is clicked that says Label
    By bluize in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2011, 08:20 AM
  2. Lookup from a label
    By Sparticuz in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-21-2010, 04:30 PM
  3. Start Label Print on Selected Label
    By Jimmy Johnson in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-15-2009, 12:13 PM
  4. Label Genie... No Label Sizes...?
    By scuba728 in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 10:51 AM
  5. label in cm, change the size of the label
    By rleif in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-04-2006, 01:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •