Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Kraftees Colelgeotwn
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ithaca, Ny
    Posts
    16

    Default Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

    Hello,

    I am trying to send an email of multiple records with Alpha5 v9.

    The email I am trying to send, would contain field data from multiple records within the same table all that share the same email address.

    Ex.
    Fields: Class, Email, Enrollment, Professor, Author, Title, ISBN, Edition, Copyright
    Record1 Data: AEM 3200 , 30 Student, DAG324@mail.com, Mr.Professor, Suess, Green Eggs & Ham, 3rd, 2010
    Record2 Data: AEM 3200, 30 Students, DAG324@mail.com, Mr.Professor, Tolien, Lord of the Rings, 2nd, 2010
    Record 3 Data: AEM 4000, 100 Students DAG324@mail.com, Mr.Professor, Tolkien, Hobbit, 1st, 2009

    So I wanted to click within the browse on the little email icon next to the email field, so alpha5 would open up the email client. I wanted to open a saved template that did the following:



    Dear Professor <<Professor|Y>>,

    I am touching base regarding your Fall 2012 text requirements.
    Could you please confirm or update the information we have speculated for your course(s):

    Estimated Course Enrollments:

    <<Class|>> - <<Estenroll||5|0>> Students (Loop this to print all classes with the associated email address)

    Textbooks For the Course:


    <<Class|>> - <<Author|>> -<<Title|>> (Loop this to print all textbooks for each class, While sorting A to Z the classes.)


    The only way I have ever got this to work was to add a Child Link to the Parent table in a set (I know bad idea), and link the too one to many off of the email field. This actually did work (other than sorting) but caused many other issues so I had to bail on that idea.

    Does anyone have a suggestion on a way to make this work?
    The actual idea is to take all the data in the table and put it into an organized email with the click of a button, so someone can go through and quickly send emails without typing in all the data or filters etc.

    Ideas would be greatly appreciated even if it is doing it a completely different way. If anyone needs anymore clarification just let me know.

    Thanks,
    Chris

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Kraftees Colelgeotwn
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ithaca, Ny
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

    I also should note, I would like to be able to send these one at a time to view what it is going to send rather than one loop that sends to hundreds. I would like to be able to preview each email prior to sending it.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,361

    Default Re: Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

    You might need to drop a database here to explain where you have gotten to.
    Not sure why you think linking sets is a bad idea.

    Edit
    If you create a 1:M set, say

    Name
    ..Data

    Keyed on an ID, then try creating a 1:Many display on your Template.
    Don't use HTML formatting.
    Read the bit where it says to replace the text. Place the data element there.

    Works fine.
    Last edited by Ted Giles; 03-14-2012 at 07:30 AM.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Kraftees Colelgeotwn
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ithaca, Ny
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

    Hi Ted,

    Actually the only time I had this work with a 1:M link in the set, was when I added a child link of the actual parent table. This created some problems later down the road.

    This is actually what I had working before:

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...314#post592314

    But again, this was with the 1:M link running of a child link that was also the parent table.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,361

    Default Re: Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

    You are correct that it doesn't work the way you would imagine.
    The 1:M link is only at the first level, so;

    Professor
    ..Classes
    .....Books

    doesn't allow a selection on 1:M between Classes and Books.

    Only thing I can think of is to create a Report - which will allow you to format the data the way you want to - and mail that as an attachment, or perhaps copy the content to the Clipboard and paste to the mail.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Kraftees Colelgeotwn
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ithaca, Ny
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

    Ted, I have started building a sample report is there an easy way to copy the contents of the report to the clipboard? I have built an action scripting to pull all the information I need and it Previews the report but all I can do is either print it or zoom in zoom out, no way to highlight and copy the data.

    Is there a way to open the report in notepad through action scripting? For an easy copy paste?

    Thanks for your help.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Kraftees Colelgeotwn
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ithaca, Ny
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

    Actually I have modified it to send the Report as a .txt attachment in the email.

    This way I can auto fill data in all of the email / subject areas of the header, then can just open the text file copy and paste into the body and delete the file.

    Thanks for the suggestions, this will work for me I think.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,361

    Default Re: Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

    Gonna be tomorrow now it's getting late here.
    Look at capturing data by Copy to clipboard.
    Easiest way is to save the report as a word file, opens automatically, select all/copy/paste.
    Long winded but probably scriptable.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,361

    Default Re: Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

    This script captures the data and copies it to the Clipboard.

    'Date Created: 30-Jan-2012 05:20:05 PM
    'Last Updated: 15-Mar-2012 10:26:45 AM
    'Created By : Ted
    'Updated By : Ted
    dim data as C

    dim tbl as P

    tbl = table.current()

    text = (tbl.class)
    text1= (tbl.professor)
    text2= text+" "+text1
    :clipboard.set_data(text2,1,.t.)

    Do something similar, and you can place it on a button, copy the data, launch the e-mail and paste.

    The Help search is Clipboard.set and .get
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Kraftees Colelgeotwn
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ithaca, Ny
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Email Multiple Records through Alpha5??

    Ted, thanks for the help. Appreciated much.

Similar Threads

  1. How to use one Applicaiton server for multiple instances of Alpha5?
    By Fisher in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-25-2011, 06:06 PM
  2. Taskmgr shows multiple Alpha5.exe running
    By Michael Humby in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 06:11 PM
  3. Alpha5 and MS Excel with Multiple Worksheets
    By ppham in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-15-2008, 12:12 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 03:43 PM
  5. Alpha5 V6 email problem
    By Matthew Copper in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-12-2005, 06:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •