Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Export/Import Form Layouts

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jon
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    343

    Default Export/Import Form Layouts

    I would like to export / import form layouts (.a5pkg files) using version 9. Is this possible? I have several computers some using V9 and some using V10. I see that V10 has the ability of exporting and importing layouts but not sure if this is possible using V9.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Export/Import Form Layouts

    Jon,

    It took less than ten seconds to open and search the wiki and find

    What's New in Version 10 > Desktop Features V10 > Send and Receive Individual Layout Definitions V10

    Since the feature is new in V10, I wouldn't expect it to work in V9.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jon
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    343

    Default Re: Export/Import Form Layouts

    Thanks Stan, prior to posting my thread, I also searched and found the Wiki help file you found but I'm looking to export/import layouts for V9. The export/import feature that was added for V10 works great. Saves hours of "unnecessary wasted time "re-creating" a form from one computer to another. I search the A5 threads and found several threads some of which refer to an operation that Jim Chapman created but can't find his post or code in the archive. Thanks for the reply
    Last edited by jbk; 03-28-2012 at 06:38 PM.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Andrew Schone
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,047

    Default Re: Export/Import Form Layouts

    Finian Lennon wrote a copy object routine that will do what you want in version 9.
    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ject-Utilities
    Andrew

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Jon
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    343

    Default Re: Export/Import Form Layouts

    Thanks Andrew. I'll download the file and give it a try... JON
    Last edited by jbk; 03-29-2012 at 08:54 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Export/Import Layouts
    By russ Boehle in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-29-2012, 10:04 AM
  2. Functions for Export and Import Layouts
    By Keith Hubert in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-10-2010, 07:07 PM
  3. Import/export layouts with xbasic
    By gmeredith17 in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 05:39 AM
  4. Twenty forms layouts but only one generic Form
    By Andy Dibble in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-11-2003, 03:17 PM
  5. different version corrupting form layouts
    By Sharon Couch in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2001, 08:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •