Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Web Security not active

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    David McGrew, MD
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    55

    Default Web Security not active

    To the best of my ability , I have set up and configured security for a site as directed. When I publish all files and open my index page that has the login component and enter UserID and password, I get a message on the login component that says "WebSecurity: Web security is not active". Any ideas on how to address this, as the security is clearly set to active in the configuration?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,674

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    It would normally call it a bug - but that upsets people, so it's not a bug - so let's just agree it doesn't work the way we are using it.. I also fell victim of this and wasted several hours the other day. Red message, as you say in the dialog..Web Security not active
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Gregg Schmidt
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    1,399

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    Hi David,

    I believe there are two places to check to turn on web security.
    I have images to show both.
    I hope this helps.

    Attachment 31561

    Attachment 31562

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,632

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    David - have you turned web security on in your server configuration? Just go to your A5 Web server control panel - it's right on the first tab.
    -Steve


  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,674

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    Yes to both from me - I've done this many times and it NOW does not work.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  6. #6
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,173

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    The message "Web Security Not Active" will be displayed under only 2 circumstances. (1) The security framework is off on the server, or (2) the security configuration shows that security is off. If the security configuration is changed from off to on, that change may not be applied immediately because the security is cached in V11 as explained HERE.

    The only other possible condition would be a application design error where a project is published to a folder under the webroot, but another project was published directly to the webroot. Under this condition, a project may not be using the security configuration expected. This has always been the case as explained HERE.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    David McGrew, MD
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    server.jpgSecurity Config.jpg

    I got my hopes up from the responses, but to no avail. As you can see, the server and security settings are both showing as active. I looked in the A5Webroot folder and got rid of all the extraneous files, restarted the server, but still get the same notice WebSecurity: Web security is not active.

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    David McGrew, MD
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    Never mind! I have achieved success. I republished everything and now I get in. Thanks for the help.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    David McGrew, MD
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    Well actually - it worked once, and now I am back to the same problem?? Jerry, I really liked your certainty, but there must be something else. I am going to go back over your post very carefully, but I sure don't see what I am missing.

  10. #10
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    David, your attached image of security settings is for the Desktop copy of Alpha Five. Is that the server you are saying does not have security? Or are you publishing to a remote server. A remote server's configuration screen looks like the one posted towards the beginning of this thread. Also, there is one more place security does not work - in LivePreview, just in case that is where you are testing your pages.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,674

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    Steve I built a new app - existing server others no security issues, refuses to activate the new app on the current build for me as well. I've done it plenty of times before.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  12. #12
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    OK, I will try building and pub anew one.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  13. #13
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    Sorry but I built a brand new simple index.a5w, login.a5w + login dialog app on the latest version and added a single user, and security works properly on my local webroot and published to a remote server. To compare, I did the absolute least requirement on the security config, including unchecking pwd encryption and no other options changed from default at all.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  14. #14
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,674

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    I'll do it again on local. Thanks for testing.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  15. #15
    Member
    Real Name
    David McGrew, MD
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    The problem I had was with both desktop (local) and remote server. However, I have not retried the remote. I figured since I was having a problem with both that both had the same problem. I will retry the remote today and let you know if that is a problem as well. It is possible that the webroot clutter is the problem on the remote server. I know that security is checked active in both places.

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    David McGrew, MD
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    The remote server is showing security active in both places and has no files in the A5WebRoot that are outside of folders. So I guess there must be some other explanation. I am open to suggestions and really need to get this resolved.

  17. #17
    Member
    Real Name
    David McGrew, MD
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    I am opening the Index.a5w page in design mode and then clicking the lightening bolt. Index.a5w opens in the browser under local host. I enter the userID and password and get the "Security is not active" message.

  18. #18
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,173

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    Quote Originally Posted by dmcgrew View Post
    I am opening the Index.a5w page in design mode and then clicking the lightening bolt. Index.a5w opens in the browser under local host. I enter the userID and password and get the "Security is not active" message.
    If you are clicking the lightening bolt, you are running in Live Preview. Security is turned off in Live Preview so you can more easily test pages without having to set security.

    I have also sent you 2 emails today through the forum concerning security configuration, but apparently the email address is incorrect. Please PM me with a correct email address and we can try to help you.

  19. #19
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    Dave, I said what Jerry just said back in post 10. Are you testing in BOTH LivePreview and then also on a remote server NOT in LivePreview?
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  20. #20
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,674

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    OK Steve - gave it another go - and it kicked in - I had to delete all the earlier security from the server making certain no other security files were in the root of the WAS and only in the publishing folder - re-published all, cleared the history - turned off the publish only modified and now works as normal, like I said I've done this many times and never seen this before, anyhow all working.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  21. #21
    Member
    Real Name
    Edwin Lee
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    Running real (non preview) mode makes security active but now I have 403 forbidden error
    Last edited by Delta Force; 04-23-2012 at 02:12 PM.

  22. #22
    Member
    Real Name
    Edwin Lee
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: Web Security not active

    Ignore this post.
    Last edited by Delta Force; 04-23-2012 at 02:13 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Recommend: Allow user to set security on ONE item in Web Security and Page Security
    By lsprowls in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2012, 01:35 PM
  2. Security Integration w/ Active Directory
    By bspolarich in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 06:41 AM
  3. Support for Active Directory will not be offered in V10 web security system
    By Tommy Thompson in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 04:41 PM
  4. Web security - bring back page security utility
    By Pat Bremkamp in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-30-2008, 01:40 PM
  5. Security Settings and Active X
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-23-2004, 07:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •