Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Get rid of white space for Static Text if Show/Hide expression hides the text

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,531

    Default Get rid of white space for Static Text if Show/Hide expression hides the text

    I have some Static Text on a dialog component that I only want to show under certain conditions. I've used the Show/Hide expression to accomplish that. However, even if the Static Text should Hide, space is still allocated to it, leaving too much blank space. Is there a way to get rid of the space for the Static Text when it is hidden?

    Here is dialog when 2 static text controls do Show: http://screencast.com/t/OVRikijvYSDV

    Here is dialog when only 1 static text control is showing: http://screencast.com/t/xKQKpxhpjXd

    Here is dialog when conditions make both static text controls hide: http://screencast.com/t/il7q4jQVa
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,815

    Default Re: Get rid of white space for Static Text if Show/Hide expression hides the text

    I would get into Firebug and see if you can get at the control's ID. You might be able to use the CSS property "Display", setting it to "None" will not take up any space.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,531

    Default Re: Get rid of white space for Static Text if Show/Hide expression hides the text

    Thanks, David. I monkeyed around with using a Freeform control and eliminating the vertical space around it. I put both static texts into a freeform area and managed to make it all use less white space which, for now, seems ok. Doesn't get rid of all of it, but I'm moving on for now. I will remember what you suggested, though, cuz I'll probably come back to this.
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  4. #4
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,635

    Default Re: Get rid of white space for Static Text if Show/Hide expression hides the text

    It will sound odd, but the answer is to put more stuff in...

    Put each of your Static Text statements in a container and those two containers in another container. Then hide and show the containers as needed, not the Static Text.
    Pat Bremkamp
    MindKicks Consulting

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,531

    Default Re: Get rid of white space for Static Text if Show/Hide expression hides the text

    Pat, I tried your suggestion, but it doesn't seem to work for me. Maybe I'm doing something wrong.. Here is video of me trying it: http://screencast.com/t/fsWR7PpPJ
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  6. #6
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,635

    Default Re: Get rid of white space for Static Text if Show/Hide expression hides the text

    OK, now what you can do is reduce the spacing above and below the container. It is not obvious, but you can put negative numbers in the Spacing - above and Spacing - below properties. For example, try -20px; for each of these. That's probably too much, but you will see the difference with that amount. Takes some playing.
    Pat Bremkamp
    MindKicks Consulting

Similar Threads

  1. client side show/hide expression to show object when row is dirty
    By Selwyn Rabins in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-22-2012, 01:41 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-03-2011, 03:44 PM
  3. Hide Help Icon when expression is entered in show/hide property.
    By leetv in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-31-2011, 01:26 PM
  4. Hide/Show text
    By davej in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-23-2002, 05:48 PM
  5. How to rid white space in reports
    By Leroy Adamski in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-29-2002, 09:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •