Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    #16
    Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

    rs = cn.ResultSet
    msg = rs.ToJSONObjectSyntax()
    msg = "wineTastingCallback(["+strtran(msg,crlf(),",")+"]);"
    I am send this as JSONP to a ajaxcallback cross domain
    if you think about it and remove the script
    (["+strtran(msg,crlf(),",")+"]
    I am only doing this.
    why you need so much work? please let me know so I understand the complexity.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    [email protected]
    Skype:[email protected]
    1 914 924 5171

    Comment


      #17
      Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

      It basically returns a JSON string. BASICALLY. It still needs to be formatted correctly by changing the crlf's to commas. I need cnt but you're right that I didn't need:

      Code:
      for i = 1 to cnt
      results = results + word(result,i,chr(13)) + crlf()
      next
      That was a left over artifact that needed to be cleaned up by changing the previous line to:

      Code:
      results = "[" + results
      So that saves some time. I'm working on adding a timer to the JavaScript portion right now to see the time it takes to execute the server side code vs the time it takes to execute the client side code.

      Comment


        #18
        Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

        a.h
        why you need to parse the object in the xbasic?
        can you show what is returned ( even truncated in the middle)?
        thanks for reading

        gandhi

        version 11 3381 - 4096
        mysql backend
        http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
        [email protected]
        Skype:[email protected]
        1 914 924 5171

        Comment


          #19
          Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

          So, that portion of the code looks like this now:

          (commented for clarity of why I'm doing stuff)

          Code:
          result = rs.ToJSONObjectSyntax()
          'Get the count to let users know how many rows affected
          cnt = w_count(result,chr(13))
          'add a bracket to the front of the result for proper formatting.
          results = "[" + result
          'change the crlf delimited list to comma delimited.  Otherwise javascript doesn't like the line breaks
          results = crlf_to_comma(results)
          'escape the javascript senistive stuff in the results like single quotes that may be in the sql stuff returned  WHY DOESNT .ToJSONObjectSyntax() DO THIS??!!
          results = js_escape(results)
          'the rest of the stuff below shouldn't take much time as it's just building a string for javascript code
          results = "var data = '" + results
          results = results + "]';" + crlf()+ "var obj = JSON.parse(data);"
          if columns[1] <> "" then
          clmcnt = columns.SIZE()
          	for i = 1 to clmcnt
          		inhtml = inhtml + "<th>" + columns[i] + "</th>"
          	next
          inhtml = inhtml + "</tr>'"
          results = results  + crlf() + "var inhtml = " + inhtml + crlf() + "for (i = 0; i <"+cnt+"; i++){" + crlf() + "inhtml = inhtml + '<tr><td>' + i +'</td>"
          	for i = 1 to clmcnt
          		results = results + "<td>' + obj[i]."+columns[i]+"+'</td>"
          	next
          results = results + "</tr>'" + ";" + crlf() + "}"+ crlf() + "inhtml = inhtml + '</tr></table>';" + crlf() + "$('RESULTS').innerHTML= inhtml;"
          end if
          Originally posted by GGandhi View Post
          a.h
          why you need to parse the object in the xbasic?
          can you show what is returned ( even truncated in the middle)?
          The very first code I pasted is what the xbasic returns to the browser.

          Comment


            #20
            Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

            counterintuitive!
            you have the resultset and the data is available as data(1) or data("name")
            you are converting to an object and parsing in xbasic?!?
            Last edited by GGandhi; 05-18-2015, 11:56 AM.
            thanks for reading

            gandhi

            version 11 3381 - 4096
            mysql backend
            http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
            [email protected]
            Skype:[email protected]
            1 914 924 5171

            Comment


              #21
              Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

              Inefficient. I need to return ALL ROWS that the query returns. Looping through the result set (rs.data(1) etc.) is even slower than what I'm doing above. That's why I'm doing this in the first place. For speed.

              Comment


                #22
                Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

                you are still looping thru after the parsing so there is speed break.
                show a partial resultset and I can understand better to see any improvement can be done. or may be you are right to start with anyway.
                thanks for reading

                gandhi

                version 11 3381 - 4096
                mysql backend
                http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                [email protected]
                Skype:[email protected]
                1 914 924 5171

                Comment


                  #23
                  Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

                  you don't need the count, obj.length will be sufficient.

                  result = "["+strtran(result, crlf(),","+"]" will be sufficient for that portion of the code. where you are creating an array.
                  rstoJSONOject in version 11 is not right, in my opinion. you need to rework it.
                  once the object is built you don't parse it in xbasic do it in javascript.
                  again you don't need column count that can be done itself.
                  thanks for reading

                  gandhi

                  version 11 3381 - 4096
                  mysql backend
                  http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                  [email protected]
                  Skype:[email protected]
                  1 914 924 5171

                  Comment


                    #24
                    Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

                    Originally posted by GGandhi View Post
                    you are still looping thru after the parsing so there is speed break.
                    show a partial resultset and I can understand better to see any improvement can be done. or may be you are right to start with anyway.
                    I'm only looping through the columns, not the rows so it's not like I'm going through the whole result set. After it get's to the client side, yes, I'm looping through in JavaScript to build the HTML. In Post #5 above, you will find a result of my Xbasic code. I can give you another one if you want. Maybe I'm not understanding what you want.

                    Comment


                      #25
                      Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

                      okay when i get home tonight i will show how i did with your sample you gave in the first post.
                      if you want me to work a large data send it thru pm. i will download and process that and post back to via pm.
                      thanks for reading

                      gandhi

                      version 11 3381 - 4096
                      mysql backend
                      http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                      [email protected]
                      Skype:[email protected]
                      1 914 924 5171

                      Comment


                        #26
                        Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

                        Ok, I used obj.length as you suggested. I also commented out the cnt portion of the code. It didn't make too much difference on the server side but it's definitely a better solution. The biggest difference was the first for loop that you reminded me to take out.

                        Anyway, now it seems like the html rendering is the slow point. Maybe I'll try rendering the Inner html a row at a time similar to what MSSQL server does to keep the user entertained....LOL

                        I think I might have to figure out how to paginate the data.

                        Anyone have any ideas on the HTML rendering?

                        Sigh, this is why a list control would be so nice if it could be made to render dynamic columns.
                        Last edited by -Jinx-; 05-18-2015, 01:17 PM.

                        Comment


                          #27
                          Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

                          okay here I have shown two videos

                          ajax callback to grid done entirely thru alpha five
                          http://screencast.com/t/jekFBjXqBEy0

                          alpha five to emit the json data and the angularjs to pick up and process the data ( done cross site HTTP)
                          http://screencast.com/t/zBeB8q9YV9Zr

                          hope you like them
                          good luck with your project.
                          edit:
                          here is the screencast for the angular_itemsCallback.a5w that is in the server which emits the json object array for angularjs to pick up.
                          http://screencast.com/t/Qt9i0FsZt
                          Last edited by GGandhi; 05-19-2015, 09:28 PM.
                          thanks for reading

                          gandhi

                          version 11 3381 - 4096
                          mysql backend
                          http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                          [email protected]
                          Skype:[email protected]
                          1 914 924 5171

                          Comment


                            #28
                            Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

                            Thanks Gandhi,

                            I was busy with some other work the last day or so but I got back to it today a little. The HTML rendering is the only slow part now. Everything else seems to be nice and speedy. I also would like to figure out how to make my table columns resizable.

                            Anyway, here's a preview of what I've got.

                            http://screencast.com/t/M75SBdtnnUdm

                            I added an output to excel so that they can send the long queries out that way. It's funny that building a huge Excel file is faster than rendering the HTML

                            Comment


                              #29
                              Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

                              very nice.
                              thanks for reading

                              gandhi

                              version 11 3381 - 4096
                              mysql backend
                              http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                              [email protected]
                              Skype:[email protected]
                              1 914 924 5171

                              Comment


                                #30
                                Re: Show Results of Xbasic SQL Query in UX

                                Sigh, this is why a list control would be so nice if it could be made to render dynamic columns.
                                A couple of years ago I started to build something like this for my work but got side tracked and picked it up yesterday. I ran into the same problem with the List Control rendering dynamic columns. I am working on trying to solve this, I will let you know if I find a solution.

                                BTW, this is a great thread between you and GGandhi.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X