Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

How to include alpha variables in meta data?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    How to include alpha variables in meta data?

    I want to include user entered fields in the meta data of an a5w page, like this.
    I have this code in the head section:
    Code:
    <%a5
    Dim cn as sql::connection 
    flag = cn.open("::Name::urbangrocery")
    dim sqlCommand as c
    sqlCommand = "select * from webpages where recordid='1'"
    flag = cn.execute(sqlCommand)
    dim rs1 as sql::ResultSet
    rs1 = cn.ResultSet
    CK_main=rs1.data("content")
    metatitle=rs1.data("metatitle")
    metadescription=rs1.data("metadescription")
    cn.close()
    %>
    <title><%A5?metatitle%></title>
    <meta content="<%A5?metadescription%>" name="description">
    However, the title and meta content do not show up when the page is published and retrieved from the browser (I am viewing the page with Firebug). The title and meta content seem to need to be at the top above the code section. But, if so, how do I refer to the data fields?
    Last edited by richardurban; 07-31-2014, 11:22 PM.
    Richard Urban

    Grocery Delivery Software for Stores and Entrepreneurs: http://www.urbangrocery.com

    #2
    Re: How to include alpha variables in meta data?

    Try printing the whole meta tag instead.

    Code:
    <%a5 
        ? "<meta content=\"" + metadescription + "\" name=\"description\">"
    %>
    Alpha Anywhere latest pre-release

    Comment


      #3
      Re: How to include alpha variables in meta data?

      Same as Sarah said, but I have had these lines in all apps since A5V7:

      <%A5
      ?"<link rel=\"stylesheet\" type=\"text/css\" href=\"css/theme/"+wt_setup("css_theme") + "/framework.css\">" + crlf()
      ?"<meta name=\"keywords\" content=\"" + wt_setup("meta_keywords") + ", " + wt_page("Meta_keywords")+"\">" + crlf()
      ?"<meta name=\"description\" content=\"" + wt_setup("meta_description") + " " + wt_page("Meta_description")+"\">" + crlf()
      %>

      The wt_setup() just inserts plain text from a defaults table, and the wt_page() inserts additional meta data from a table that has one record per page. So I end up with boilerplate meta data on every page, plus meta data customized for each page.
      Steve Wood
      See my profile on IADN

      Comment


        #4
        Re: How to include alpha variables in meta data?

        Thanks Sarah and Steve, printing the whole meta tag worked. I did have trouble with the title not showing, but that was because I had includes that also had a title section (and other meta tags). If you have includes, remove the meta tags and title if the page you are putting it on already has those; and remove all the body and head tags, as they are not needed.
        By the way, is it considered best practice to put the alpha five code block where you retrieve data in the head first, or put the meta tags (that do not use data) first, or does it not make any difference?
        By the way, I was reading that the keywords meta tag is no longer recommended, as search engines no longer use it.
        Last edited by richardurban; 07-31-2014, 11:28 PM.
        Richard Urban

        Grocery Delivery Software for Stores and Entrepreneurs: http://www.urbangrocery.com

        Comment


          #5
          Re: How to include alpha variables in meta data?

          You should not include (using "a5w_include()") whole A5W pages inside other whole pages. You duplicate all of the HTML tags like head, title, etc. I use lots of includes but never duplicate any of those tags.

          EDIT: Hey - just noticed this is my 8000th post!
          Steve Wood
          See my profile on IADN

          Comment


            #6
            Re: How to include alpha variables in meta data?

            That is a lot of posts, and a lucky number, too!
            For includes, then, I guess if there is code and then html, Alpha knows to put it in the right place without head or body tags, right?

            I will answer that myself, if the include has html code, put it in the correct place in the body of your page; Alpha five will take care of the code part.
            Last edited by richardurban; 08-01-2014, 12:16 AM.
            Richard Urban

            Grocery Delivery Software for Stores and Entrepreneurs: http://www.urbangrocery.com

            Comment


              #7
              Re: How to include alpha variables in meta data?

              No, Alpha doesn't know anything. It just includes your A5W page wherever you insert it. The HTML below is an example of how I break includes into proper HTML tags. Notice below I have one included page specific to the HEAD and two included pages specific to the BODY section.

              So, I have broken my included page into two sections, one for the HEAD and one for the BODY.

              I should say that even though I think this is required, lots of people successfully include whole A5W pages inside other ones without any concern or problem. I just happen to like my deployed A5W pages to be pure, with only one set of HTML tags. The main problem I saw was with javascript not knowing which HEAD area to look at for its function reference.

              <!DOCTYPE HTML>
              <html>
              <head>

              <%a5 a5w_include("inc_header_head.a5w") %>

              </head>
              <body>

              <div id="wrapper">

              <%A5 a5w_include("inc_header_body.a5w") %>
              <div id="content">

              content here...

              </div><!-- content -->

              <%A5 a5w_include("inc_footer_body.a5w") %>

              </div><!-- wrapper -->
              </body></html>
              Steve Wood
              See my profile on IADN

              Comment

              Working...
              X