Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Time from Seconds

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    #16
    Re: Time from Seconds

    without testing it - would that just create a NEW Date based on the current datetime? Or does new Date(t1) simply format/convert an existing record as Date?
    Also what would happen if there is no value? do i need to write an if statement to run t1 if the startdatetime is <> ' ' ?
    seems like I would only create var t1 if there is a value already - right?

    I think I am getting it, just cannot test right now.
    NWCOPRO: Nuisance Wildlife Control Software My Application: http://www.nwcopro.com "Without forgetting, we would have no memory at all...now what was I saying?"

    Comment


      #17
      Re: Time from Seconds

      new Date()
      Will create current date time in readable format
      new Date(string or seconds) will create based on that value
      Read JavaScript date reference you will see
      thanks for reading

      gandhi

      version 11 3381 - 4096
      mysql backend
      http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
      [email protected]
      Skype:[email protected]
      1 914 924 5171

      Comment


        #18
        Re: Time from Seconds

        If date is empty you supply what is correct one instead
        Last edited by GGandhi; 02-11-2016, 08:48 PM.
        thanks for reading

        gandhi

        version 11 3381 - 4096
        mysql backend
        http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
        [email protected]
        Skype:[email protected]
        1 914 924 5171

        Comment


          #19
          Re: Time from Seconds

          Ok so I am posting my code as per your instructions with an additional line .toformat
          which should for all intents and purposes do exactly what you're saying. In effect I am setting teh existing date from the getValue to a date format.
          In theory this SHOULD work, and I see what your getting at.

          The problem is that, I am still getting a NAN...and it is the start time doing it. If I click button one, the calculation runs as expected.
          here is my code with what I thought was your suggestion...

          Code:
          d1 = new Date();
          d1 = d1.toFormat('MM/dd/yyyy 0h:0m:0s am');
          {grid.Object}.setValue('D','HOURS_STOP',d1);
          stime = {grid.Object}.getValue('D','HOURS_START');
          etim = {grid.Object}.getValue('D','HOURS_STOP');
          payr = {grid.Object}.getValue('D','PAYRATE');
          stimenew = new Date(stime);
          stimenew = stimenew.toFormat('MM/dd/yyyy 0h:0m:0s am');
          nt1 = new Date(stimenew);
          nt2 = new Date(etim);
          timdif = nt2.getTime() - nt1.getTime();
          secs = timdif/1000;
          mins = secs/60;
          
          //gandhi addition to your code
          var h = Math.floor(secs/3600);
          if (h < 10) {
          h = "0"+h;
          }
          var m = Math.floor((secs%3600)/60);
          if (m < 10 ) {
          m = "0"+m;
          }
          var s = secs%60;
          if (s < 10 ) {
          s = "0" + s;
          }
          var cpm = payr/60;
          var totalc = cpm*mins;
          var rounded = "$"+totalc.toFixed(2);
          
          
          elapsedtime = h + ":" + m + ":" + s;
          {grid.Object}.setValue('D','minutes',m);
          {grid.Object}.setValue('D','seconds',secs);
          {grid.Object}.setValue('D','HOURS_TOTAL',elapsedtime);
          {grid.Object}.setValue('D','GROSSPAY',rounded);
          NWCOPRO: Nuisance Wildlife Control Software My Application: http://www.nwcopro.com "Without forgetting, we would have no memory at all...now what was I saying?"

          Comment


            #20
            Re: Time from Seconds

            You know 2 years of working with alpha and I can't add and subtract time even with guidance - jeez sometimes it's just painful!
            shouldn't nt1 and nt2
            have already rendered this to your suggestion?
            NWCOPRO: Nuisance Wildlife Control Software My Application: http://www.nwcopro.com "Without forgetting, we would have no memory at all...now what was I saying?"

            Comment


              #21
              Re: Time from Seconds

              Looking at what is getting saved to the database I see this for the start time.
              2016-02-11 22:27:03
              This is whats displayed in my component in alpha
              02/11/2016 10:27:03 00 pm

              Also I notice that if I copy the value in the field of an existing record and then paste it directly back in I just get: 02/11/201


              This is different than what is displayed...will that matter?
              NWCOPRO: Nuisance Wildlife Control Software My Application: http://www.nwcopro.com "Without forgetting, we would have no memory at all...now what was I saying?"

              Comment


                #22
                Re: Time from Seconds

                After extensive testing, I found that this code works as expected:
                Code:
                d1 = new Date();
                d1 = d1.toFormat('MM/dd/yyyy 0h:0m:0s am');
                {grid.Object}.setValue('D','HOURS_STOP',d1);
                
                stime = {grid.Object}.getValue('D','HOURS_START');
                etim = {grid.Object}.getValue('D','HOURS_STOP');
                payr = {grid.Object}.getValue('D','PAYRATE');
                newstime = new Date(stime);
                newstime= newstime.toFormat('MM/dd/yyyy 0h:0m:0s am');
                nt1 = new Date(newstime);
                nt2 = new Date(etim);
                timdif = nt2.getTime() - nt1.getTime();
                secs = timdif/1000;
                mins = secs/60;
                
                //gandhi addition to your code
                var h = Math.floor(secs/3600);
                if (h < 10) {
                h = "0"+h;
                }
                var m = Math.floor((secs%3600)/60);
                if (m < 10 ) {
                m = "0"+m;
                }
                var s = secs%60;
                if (s < 10 ) {
                s = "0" + s;
                }
                var cpm = payr/60;
                var totalc = cpm*mins;
                var rounded = "$"+totalc.toFixed(2);
                
                
                elapsedtime = h + ":" + m + ":" + s;
                {grid.Object}.setValue('D','minutes',m);
                {grid.Object}.setValue('D','seconds',secs);
                {grid.Object}.setValue('D','HOURS_TOTAL',elapsedtime);
                {grid.Object}.setValue('D','GROSSPAY',rounded);
                The problem stemmed from the "display format" as it seems that if you pick
                time("{grid.clientSideDateFormat} 0h:0m am",<value>)
                then it all works as expected, otherwise you will see the seconds appear in the endtime field which as it turns out are different than the starttime that is stored.
                If I chose nothing OR
                time("{grid.clientSideDateFormat} 0h:0m 0s am",<value>) then it fails - this sucks because you would think I were calculating the seconds - and in fact we are...also not choosing a display format results in a fail too!

                Anyways, the final result is this works and gghandi your code suggestions helped me - ---- but I needed to define the "displayed format" for each field as stated.
                To me this makes no sense as a "displayed format" to me means it's actually something else - you're just seeing it displayed how you want it...as it turns out it is important in another way...one I do not understand but managed to get it working!
                NWCOPRO: Nuisance Wildlife Control Software My Application: http://www.nwcopro.com "Without forgetting, we would have no memory at all...now what was I saying?"

                Comment

                Working...
                X