Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Share your Editors

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Share your Editors

    Have you built an Editor or Editor Set using the Tablet Optimized Forms? Have you modified existing Editors to meet your needs? Share them with us!

    Post images, code, whatever you feel is the best way to share your Editor.

    What's an Editor?

    Don't know what an Editor is? Check out these resources and start building one today! We have a number of videos available covering everything from the basics to building fully-customized editors using ViewBoxes (ViewBoxes were used to create the keypads and checklist item Editors in the Sample Tablet App.)


    Too Busy to Build?

    If you're too busy to put together an Editor but have one you'd like to see, Let us know! Send your feedback to tabletbeta[at]alphasoftware.com or post your suggestions here in the Tablet Beta Forum.
    Last edited by Sarah Mitchell; 11-03-2015, 10:56 AM.
    Sarah Mitchell
    Documentation | Alpha Software Corporation
    Get in the know! Join us for our Weekly Webinars: TransForm Tuesday and Wednesday's Alpha Anywhere Demo and Q&A
    Connect with us: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | YouTube

  • #2
    Re: Share you Editors

    In doing audits, I routinely need to show whether or not something was OK or not. Default is always "Yes" for OK because auditors then only need to click on the items that were Not OK for some reason speeding up data entry.

    The way I do it now (which I will improve upon in the tablet app) for the desktop application uses a drop-down and the choices are: Y, N, D, A, X. Y for Yes, N for No, D for No Detail Provided, A for No Applicable and X for Not Examined. If the choices are either N or D the selection is red because that is a defect.

    I am trying to think of the best way to do this is a tablet app and I know I won't use a drop-down control. People will be using their finger and making the selection. We are also going to discontinue using the "D" option.

    So basically I will ask the user to select with their finger: Yes, No, N/A, N/E


    OK.jpg

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Share you Editors

      In doing audits, I routinely need to show whether or not something was OK or not. Default is always "Yes" for OK because auditors then only need to click on the items that were Not OK for some reason speeding up data entry.

      The way I do it now (which I will improve upon in the tablet app) for the desktop application uses a drop-down and the choices are: Y, N, D, A, X. Y for Yes, N for No, D for No Detail Provided, A for No Applicable and X for Not Examined. If the choices are either N or D the selection is red because that is a defect.

      I am trying to think of the best way to do this is a tablet app and I know I won't use a drop-down control. People will be using their finger and making the selection. We are also going to discontinue using the "D" option.

      So basically I will ask the user to select with their finger: Yes, No, N/A, N/E


      OK.jpg
      OK-dropdown.jpg

      Forgot to add that I was thinking of using a green checkmark for Yes/OK, red X for No, and probably just small text for NA and NE.
      Last edited by RussSoftware; 10-30-2015, 06:30 PM.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Share you Editors

        Originally posted by RussSoftware View Post
        In doing audits, I routinely need to show whether or not something was OK or not. Default is always "Yes" for OK because auditors then only need to click on the items that were Not OK for some reason speeding up data entry.

        The way I do it now (which I will improve upon in the tablet app) for the desktop application uses a drop-down and the choices are: Y, N, D, A, X. Y for Yes, N for No, D for No Detail Provided, A for No Applicable and X for Not Examined. If the choices are either N or D the selection is red because that is a defect.

        I am trying to think of the best way to do this is a tablet app and I know I won't use a drop-down control. People will be using their finger and making the selection. We are also going to discontinue using the "D" option.

        So basically I will ask the user to select with their finger: Yes, No, N/A, N/E


        [ATTACH]41230[/ATTACH]
        [ATTACH]41231[/ATTACH]

        Forgot to add that I was thinking of using a green checkmark for Yes/OK, red X for No, and probably just small text for NA and NE.
        Have you looked at the Switch Editor? This could be a good way to capture the information easily with minimal interface elements. They can be created as HTML elements. They support more than two states, as well.
        Sarah Mitchell
        Documentation | Alpha Software Corporation
        Get in the know! Join us for our Weekly Webinars: TransForm Tuesday and Wednesday's Alpha Anywhere Demo and Q&A
        Connect with us: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | YouTube

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Share you Editors

          Yes I have. I have also looked at the Star Rating Control where I can just essentially replace the 5 Stars with a Yes green checkmark, No red X, N/A and N/E. I need to leave room for a short comment to the right of the Y/N/X/A now in my desktop application. Still playing around with options.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Share your Editors

            I use a four state response for inspection checklists to try to even out operator bias. 1 is "Excellent", 2 is "Satisfactory", 3 is "Poor" and 4 is "Needs immediate attention". either a 3 or a 4 require the user to provide additional information in another form: "Repair Requisition". I want the inspection form to automatically open the repair form whenever a 3 or a 4 is selected and also indicate that a Repair Requisition has been completed after submiting. both of these forms are embedded components in a larger app but connected to the same db.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Share your Editors

              Originally posted by Beta Spark View Post
              If you're too busy to put together an Editor but have one you'd like to see, Let us know! Send your feedback to tabletbeta[at]alphasoftware.com or post your suggestions here in the Tablet Beta Forum.
              Can you show how to use an Editor to edit an Ink Signature Capture using a UX control not a List data source?

              Thanks,
              Stephen
              Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.2.5 Build 7086-5534 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Share your Editors

                Originally posted by iRadiate View Post
                Can you show how to use an Editor to edit an Ink Signature Capture using a UX control not a List data source?

                Thanks,
                Stephen
                What do you mean by "using a UX control not a List data source"?
                Sarah Mitchell
                Documentation | Alpha Software Corporation
                Get in the know! Join us for our Weekly Webinars: TransForm Tuesday and Wednesday's Alpha Anywhere Demo and Q&A
                Connect with us: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | YouTube

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Share your Editors

                  Hi Sarah,

                  After watching this video (approx 5:40) it explains how to add an editor set for an ink signature capture based on a formview and a list control .. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yQT55cnhdU

                  I was under the impression that the editor was required to do this, but another video (which I can't find at the moment) explained that it could be based off any UX control as a data source rather than a list.

                  I've since figured out that this is not the case and I can call a ux component from a list click event, add my signature to an ink control, and then return back to the list and see the signature in the list. sig.png

                  So, I think I'm okay now, if I can only figure out how to make the eraser display
                  Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.2.5 Build 7086-5534 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Share your Editors

                    Originally posted by iRadiate View Post
                    Hi Sarah,

                    After watching this video (approx 5:40) it explains how to add an editor set for an ink signature capture based on a formview and a list control .. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yQT55cnhdU

                    I was under the impression that the editor was required to do this, but another video (which I can't find at the moment) explained that it could be based off any UX control as a data source rather than a list.

                    I've since figured out that this is not the case and I can call a ux component from a list click event, add my signature to an ink control, and then return back to the list and see the signature in the list. [ATTACH=CONFIG]42243[/ATTACH]

                    So, I think I'm okay now, if I can only figure out how to make the eraser display
                    A pre-built editor for capturing signatures in Ink form was added - "Editor - SignatureInk". It is a pre-configured Ink control. The SignatureInk editor was configured to match the behavior of the Signature Capture control, which allows you to save or clear the whole signature, as opposed to being able to erase parts of it. It's documented in this video: http://www.ajaxvideotutorials.com/V1...tureEditor.swf

                    All of our other videos on the Ink control, however, are applicable to the pre-built "Editor - SignatureInk" control since it was built with the Ink control and static text objects (and all of the code required for it to work as an Editor.) You can add and remove controls from the Ink control. In the Ink control, the tools, such as eraser or changing the pen color, are defined in the "Overlay" setting in the Ink Properties. Use the "Insert Item Attribute..." link at the bottom of the Overlay settings window to add the desired tool.

                    insertInkOverlayTool.png

                    The "Editor - SignatureInk" buttons are also defined in the Overlay settings for the Ink control.

                    NOTE: The "Editor - SignatureInk" is currently only available in the pre-release builds. This editor can be recreated in the current Release. It just takes a bit more work.
                    Sarah Mitchell
                    Documentation | Alpha Software Corporation
                    Get in the know! Join us for our Weekly Webinars: TransForm Tuesday and Wednesday's Alpha Anywhere Demo and Q&A
                    Connect with us: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | YouTube

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Share your Editors

                      Thanks for the explanation Sarah, that is helpful.

                      One strange thing that may explain why I do not see the eraser (or any other items) ... when I insert an item into the ink overlay, it doesn't add the div tags like your screenshot shows. This is what I see:

                      2016-07-08_14-46-56.png
                      Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.2.5 Build 7086-5534 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Share your Editors

                        Okay, so I put an editor on the component which allowed me to copy the overlay html.
                        Then I deleted the editor and pasted the overlay html into the ink control. Now I have the pen, eraser, redo & undo but they are smack in the middle of my ink page.
                        I tried moving them above the ink control by adjusting position top, but the portion outside the ink page is invisible. Is there another way to move the tools outside the ink page? Perhaps they can be put in their own div?

                        Edit Tools.png
                        Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.2.5 Build 7086-5534 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Share your Editors

                          Originally posted by iRadiate View Post
                          Thanks for the explanation Sarah, that is helpful.

                          One strange thing that may explain why I do not see the eraser (or any other items) ... when I insert an item into the ink overlay, it doesn't add the div tags like your screenshot shows. This is what I see:

                          [ATTACH=CONFIG]42245[/ATTACH]
                          Sorry about that. My screenshot was misleading. I opened an existing Ink control, which already had all the HTML. The "Insert Item Attribute..." inserts the a5-item attribute. This attribute will need to be added to an HTML element, such as a <div>.

                          The Eraser tool in the default Ink Editor contains the following HTML:
                          Code:
                          <div a5-item="*eraser" class="inkButton inkButtonNoPad"><svg class="inkButtonEraser" style="width: 38px; height: 38px; stroke-width: 2px;"><path d="m 12,16 8,8 -3,2.5 -6.5,0 -4.5,-4.5 z" style="fill: none;" /><path d="m 20,8 8,8 -8,8 -8,-8 z" /><rect x="12" y="26" height="2" width="20" style="stroke: none;"/></svg></div>
                          The Eraser icon is defined by the <svg> tag. The <path> and <rect> tags are the actual SVG image.

                          The outer <div> contains the a5-item, "*eraser".

                          If you wanted, you could display text instead of the SVG image:
                          Code:
                          <div a5-item="*eraser">Eraser Tool</div>
                          Or an image:
                          Code:
                          <div a5-item="*eraser"><img src="/path/to/eraser.png"/></div>

                          If you look at the Overlay definition for the Ink Editor (found in Predefined Controls), you will notice that there is a mix of a5-items that start with * and a5-items that don't start with a *. The ones that start with a * are built-in Alpha Anywhere a5-items with specific behaviors that you can modify through other settings in the Ink's properties.

                          The ones with no * are defined on the "items" tab in the Overlay definition. You can define your own tools by creating an a5-item defined on the Items tab.

                          Near as I can tell, we have no way to also insert the HTML for tools. Not to say that this will never change. We're working on making the Ink Control easier to use/define.

                          Was this more helpful?
                          Sarah Mitchell
                          Documentation | Alpha Software Corporation
                          Get in the know! Join us for our Weekly Webinars: TransForm Tuesday and Wednesday's Alpha Anywhere Demo and Q&A
                          Connect with us: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | YouTube

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Share your Editors

                            Originally posted by iRadiate View Post
                            Okay, so I put an editor on the component which allowed me to copy the overlay html.
                            Then I deleted the editor and pasted the overlay html into the ink control. Now I have the pen, eraser, redo & undo but they are smack in the middle of my ink page.
                            I tried moving them above the ink control by adjusting position top, but the portion outside the ink page is invisible. Is there another way to move the tools outside the ink page? Perhaps they can be put in their own div?

                            [ATTACH=CONFIG]42246[/ATTACH]
                            Positioning of the tools is done with classes. If you look at the Overlay definition again for the Ink Editor, you will notice all the controls are wrapped in a div:
                            Code:
                            <div style="position: absolute; top: 5px; width: 100%; text-align: center;">
                            </div>
                            You'll need to do the same with your controls to dock them to a specific place in the Ink control.
                            Sarah Mitchell
                            Documentation | Alpha Software Corporation
                            Get in the know! Join us for our Weekly Webinars: TransForm Tuesday and Wednesday's Alpha Anywhere Demo and Q&A
                            Connect with us: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | YouTube

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Share your Editors

                              Thanks so much Sarah. This is all starting to make a lot more sense to me now
                              I've been playing with the html as well as the ink page sizing and I pretty much have what I wanted to accomplish now.

                              2016-07-08_16-32-50.png
                              Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.2.5 Build 7086-5534 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X