Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

script password

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • script password

    Hi

    to password a script- say auto exec.bat

    I put

    'password password

    I thought that the ' indicated a comment?

    Even so when I right click in controll panel and select design it opens with no request for a password

    Where am I going wrong?

    thanks

    Ian

  • #2
    Re: script password

    Hi Ian,

    Yes a single quote does indicate a comment, but there are a few special comments that start with a 'word that Alpha uses to hold extra info. 'PASSWORD is one of them, but must be located on the 1st line.
    Regards,

    Ira J. Perlow
    Computer Systems Design


    CSDA A5 Products
    New - Free CSDA DiagInfo - v1.39, 30 Apr 2013
    CSDA Barcode Functions

    CSDA Code Utility
    CSDA Screen Capture


    Comment


    • #3
      Re: script password

      Hi Ira

      thanks for that, I assumed that if I created the xbasic script below that when I tried to edit it a password would be requested. Yet it lets me go into design mode with no problem.

      Any idea why?

      thanks

      Ian

      'Password testpassword

      'Date Created: 22-May-2008 02:31:51 PM
      'Last Updated: 22-May-2008 02:31:51 PM
      'Created By : Ian
      'Updated By : Ian
      'Hide the Control Panel.
      :controlpanel.hide()
      'Open a Form or Browse layout, displaying all, or selected records in the layout.

      DIM Shared varP_name as P
      DIM layout_name as c
      layout_name = "name"
      DIM tempP as p
      'Get pointer to existing window. In case layout_name is qualified with a dictionary name, extract up to first @. In case formname has spaces, normalize it
      tempP=obj(":"+object_Name_normalize(word(layout_name,1,"@")))
      'Test if pointer is valid
      if is_object(tempP) then
      'Test if pointer refers to a form or browse
      if tempP.class() = "form" .or. tempP.class() = "browse" then
      'If so, then activate the already open window
      tempP.activate()

      else
      'Window is not already open, so open it
      varP_name = :Form.view(layout_name)


      end if
      else
      varP_name = :Form.view(layout_name)


      end if

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: script password

        Hi Ian,

        Originally posted by Ian_Edwards View Post
        Hi Ira

        thanks for that, I assumed that if I created the xbasic script below that when I tried to edit it a password would be requested. Yet it lets me go into design mode with no problem.

        Any idea why?
        Hey everyone. We all know Ian's password now! It's "testpassword" :D

        Actually though, Alpha stores the password in a cache of script/UDF passwords that are cleared out when you close the database (or possibly when you close Alpha Five - I don't remember which it is). The next time it will ask you for it if it not one you've used previously.

        It's also possible (but unlikely) that using the word password in the value of the password may confuse A5.
        Regards,

        Ira J. Perlow
        Computer Systems Design


        CSDA A5 Products
        New - Free CSDA DiagInfo - v1.39, 30 Apr 2013
        CSDA Barcode Functions

        CSDA Code Utility
        CSDA Screen Capture


        Comment


        • #5
          Re: script password

          It's one of those un-spoken things that alpha expects you to know telepathically:

          You have to set a master password for your database first in order for a script password to take effect.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: script password

            Thanks one and all a restart sorted it

            Ian

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: script password

              Hi Ian,

              Originally posted by G Gabriel View Post
              You have to set a master password for your database first in order for a script password to take effect.
              I don't have a clue what Gabe is talking about, but the above is wrong.

              I have passwords on global scripts and UDFs without any database password and it works just fine.

              However, if you are talking about code on layout events, I believe they do not use (ignore) the password line, as they are in "containers" that themselves can have passwords. 'Password syntax is primarily for script and UDF objects that are visible on the code tab.
              Regards,

              Ira J. Perlow
              Computer Systems Design


              CSDA A5 Products
              New - Free CSDA DiagInfo - v1.39, 30 Apr 2013
              CSDA Barcode Functions

              CSDA Code Utility
              CSDA Screen Capture


              Comment


              • #8
                Re: script password

                Bizarre logic, isn't?
                Don't have a clue, but at the same time judge as wrong!

                Why don't you try it first (and spare me your anecdotes about your own databases that cannot be proved or disproved)

                Start a new database
                write a script without a password. See if the password triggers. It won't.
                Now master password the database and see what happens.
                You do have to restart the database in between.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: script password

                  Part of what I said is correct, the other is wrong:
                  For the password to take effect, you have to exit and restart alpha altogether, but you don't have to have a master password.

                  When I first tested it, I did both at the same time. Should have tested one at a time.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: script password

                    Now Now peace and goodwill ;-)

                    thanks

                    Ian

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X