Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

form resynch

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    form resynch

    Apparently this is not a new issue. I am not able to get a form to resynch to the current record at the end of entering a new record. The form is based on a single table and has a button that executes a script that gets a new lead number from a seperate table and adds a new record with this number in the form's table. After the record is added, the form is re-displayed but will not synch to the new record. Below is the code for the button to get a lead number and add a new record:

    'Date Created: 18-Jan-2009 11:53:41 AM
    'Last Updated: 13-Feb-2009 09:08:30 AM
    'Created By : Owner
    'Updated By : Al Mondoux
    'Get unique sequential Lead number
    '02/12/09 Al Mondoux

    vTries = 0
    form.close()

    Start:
    on error goto HandleError
    dim t as p = table.open("LeadNumbers",FILE_RW_EXCLUSIVE)
    dim t1 as p = table.open("Leads")
    t1.index_primary_put("Leadno")
    dim shared vLNO1 as c

    t.fetch_last()
    vLNO = t.LeadNoSeq + 1
    vLNO1 = left(t.LeadNo,2) + str(vLNO,0)
    t.enter_begin()
    t.LeadNoSeq = vLNO
    t.LeadNo = vLNO1
    t.DateOpen = Date()
    t.TimeOpen = time("0h:0m:0s:2")
    t.enter_end(.t.)

    t1.enter_begin()
    t1.leadno = t.LeadNo
    t1.LeadDate = t.DateOpen
    t1.enter_end(.t.)

    vleadno = vLNO1


    t1.fetch_find(vLeadno)

    'f = form.load("Lead")
    this.Resynch()
    this.show()
    this.activate()
    goto Done


    HandleError:

    if vTries < 8
    vTries = Vtries + 1
    else
    goto Retry
    end if
    goto start

    Retry:
    vRetry = ui_msg_box("Error","Cannot get Lead Number at this time. Do you want to retry?",ui_yes_no)
    if vRetry = ui_yes_selected
    vTries = 0
    goto Start
    else
    goto Done
    end if

    Done:


    Any help on this is greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by amondoux; 02-13-2009, 11:19 AM. Reason: noted change in the script code. Remarked out the form.close() statement. Did not fix.

    #2
    Re: form resynch

    Al,
    Code:
    this.Resynch()
    this.show()
    this.activate()
    If the preceding code is what you have tried, what else have you tried?? As you stated, the issue has been around for quite some time and many more methods have been suggested than just this one.

    For instance, if I was to use the "this." syntax I would want to make sure that "this" is actually referencing the form/browse as maybe it is still a pointer to the button being pressed. Have you tried parentform, topparent, form/browse explicit name????

    Also the .resynch() function only works when in view mode and I see no checking of that....or even just having a .commit() prior will place in view mode.

    Have you tried activating the form/browse and then resynch? Tried .repaint() ?, Refresh_layout() ?, ...........

    Also noticed you used this.show() which usually would mean that you had hidden the form prior...true ? (No mention of this).

    Hopefully this gives you a few more ideas ...
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________



    Comment


      #3
      Re: form resynch

      Thanks for the reply. I have tried some of your suggestions, but some of your comments have given me a lot more avenues to explore. I will let you know what the outcome is. I won't be able to do much on this for a few days as the workflow this was intended to control has increased and I will have to continue fighting fires until things settle down a bit. Good problem though.

      Comment


        #4
        Re: form resynch

        I second Mike's comments about the 'this' pointer. It is pointing to the object from which the code is run.

        In addition the t1 pointer is pointing to a newly opened instance of the Leads table which the form knows nothing about. After entering the new record you do a fetch_find on t1 but the form does not know what record that is and you aren't telling it anywhere. I believe a resynch() won't help either because t1 is still in its own session. So the resynch won't cause the form's session to take on the record pointer of t1.

        The first thing I would try is to use t1 = table.current() to get a pointer to the session of the table supporting the form. Now resynch() might actually be effective if it is still necessary. And change the pointer to the form from 'this' to topparent.
        Tim Kiebert
        Eagle Creek Citrus
        A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

        Comment


          #5
          Re: form resynch

          I do this same thing a lot - here is how I got around it - When you post to the external table, make the next command where you create a variable with that record_no that is in your current table, close(saving first) and reopen that table using a filter to that new variable. The open and close are so quick, that it looks the same as a refresh and you always get the correct record.

          Hope this helps
          I use action scripting a lot and using action sripting it would be set variable to external table

          Comment

          Working...
          X