Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Complex Filter Help

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Complex Filter Help

    I have and auto parts inventory table on a form contained in an embedded browse. On entry, I need to show only the parts related to a particular auto make, model, year. The table contains the field Veh_make, Veh_model, and Veh_year. On entry to the form, the global variables recmake, recmodel, & recyear are set.

    The following filter code works:
    query.filter="Veh_make="Ford".AND.Veh_model="Tempo".AND.Veh_year="1991"
    also the following works
    query.filter="Veh_make=var->recmake.AND.Veh_model="Tempo" .AND.Veh_year="1991"

    but trying
    query.filter=Veh_make=var->recmake .AND. Veh_model=var->recmodel .AND. Veh_year = "1991"

    no records are found. After reading Dr. Waynes and Tom Cone articles on Query Filters, I tried all types of +"'\ combinations with no success. It seems the second and condition with a variable causes the problem. Another gotcha is the Veh_year is a numeric field while the others are character.

    I certainly could use some help cause my customer is insisting that the browse show only the parts for the particular car. The service writer has problems....

    Thanks in advance, Sam



    #2
    RE: Complex Filter Help

    Try query filter = "Veh_make='"+var->recmake+"'"+" .AND. Veh_model='"+var->recmodel+"'"+" .AND. Veh_year = 1991"

    but I can't understand when you say veh_year is numeric and that query.filter="Veh_make="Ford".AND.Veh_model="Tempo".AND.Veh_year="1991" works. Clearly the veh_year is character in this expression, just as the other two variables are character.

    If the first expression doesn't work, query filter = "Veh_make='"+var->recmake+"'"+" .AND. Veh_model='"+var->recmodel+"'"+" .AND. Veh_year = '1991'" should.

    Additionally...
    "It seems the second and condition with a variable causes the problem." - your expressions do not pass the variable's value to the expression, they sort of pass the name of the variable to the expression, but not really.

    I sleep with a copy of Tom's article under my pillow but you might also look at Cal Locklin's discussion in the tips section of the Alpha website.

    Good luck.
    There can be only one.

    Comment


      #3
      RE: Complex Filter Help

      Should have added the advice to cut and paste from this post. The combinations of +, ", and ' are hard to read. Paste into a word processor and increase the font size to see the differences.
      There can be only one.

      Comment


        #4
        RE: Complex Filter Help

        I swear I posted something like this before but now I can't find it.

        When building complex filters, I find the following step-by-step procedure helpful:

        1. Start by writing out a specific filter as though you were entering it in a report's detail properties.
        EX: Veh_make="Ford" .and. veh_model="Taurus" .and. veh_year=1991

        2. Change all the double quotes to single quotes:
        EX: Veh_make='Ford' .and. veh_model='Taurus' .and. veh_year=1991

        3. Put double quotes around the whole thing:
        EX: "Veh_make='Ford' .and. veh_model='Taurus' .and. veh_year=1991"

        4. THIS IS THE PART WHERE YOU HAVE TO PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT YOU ARE DOING! Find the first text that you want to replace with a variable and replace it with that variable using something like this: " + var->varname + "
        In this case we want to replace Ford with var->recmake so we use " + var->recmake + "
        EX: "Veh_make='" + var->recmake + "' .and. veh_model='Taurus' .and. veh_year=1991"

        5. Repeat step 4 for all the rest of the variables:
        EX: "Veh_make='" + var->recmake + "' .and. veh_model='" + var->recmodel + "' .and. veh_year=" + var->recyear + ""

        In this case, the result ends with two double quotes. This doesn't hurt anything but they can be removed as long as the plus sign is also removed:
        EX: "Veh_make='" + var->recmake + "' .and. veh_model='" + var->recmodel + "' .and. veh_year=" + var->recyear

        After writing all that:

        Ooops! I get angry when people don't read the whole thing and this time I didn't read all of Stan's comments until after I wrote this. That's were it was - in the tips section. Here's a link that should take you there: Tip 52

        Comment


          #5
          RE: Complex Filter Help

          Stan and Cal,
          Thanks for the quick reply. I'll print your replies out and sit down and digust them. I have to thank all who particpate in this message board for such a great help especially from us non-professionals.

          I get back to you to see if I was able to crack the code.

          Thanks again, Sam............

          Comment


            #6
            RE: Complex Filter Help

            I'M back. The following is the code I used. I left the Veh_year off to avoid confusion. The first query.filter yielded no hits where their should have been. Using the debug I found that Veh_make and Veh_model were blank and the two variables were okay with Ford and Tempo. Running the second query.filter, using the debug. tbl.veh_make = Ford and tbl.veh_model = Tempo but the resulting query yielded the famous "No such field".

            debug(1)
            query.filter="Veh_make='"+var->recmake+"'.AND.Veh_Model='"+var->recmodel+"'"

            query.filter="tbl.Veh_make='"+var->recmake+"'.AND.tbl.Veh_Model='"+var->recmodel+"'"

            query.order=""
            tbl.query_create()
            parent.resynch()

            Stan, I noticed you used a "+" before each .AND., I tried that also but with the same results. I have no idea why the veh_make and veh_model were blank but that would reult in no hits.

            Sam

            Comment


              #7
              RE: Complex Filter Help

              I use querries like this all the time

              vmodel="Taurus"
              vmake="Ford"
              vyear=1991

              query.filter="modelname=var->vmodel .and. makename=var->vmake .and. makeyear=var->myear"

              I mix dates, characters, numerics and logicals as in the above and they work like a charm - all without getting into the double/single quotes issues

              also, you can say

              query.filter="modelname=" + quote(parentform:modelname.value) + ".and. makename=" + quote(parentform:makename.value) ... etc.

              personally I hate the double/single quotes
              Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
              972 524 8714
              [email protected]

              ____________________
              "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

              Comment


                #8
                RE: Complex Filter Help

                Thanks Martin. You are absolutely correct. However, for those not familiar with the nuances, it should be pointed out that this would apply to:
                (1) a query that was being run in the current script, or
                (2) a filter being passed to a report or other layout IF the variables are defined as GLOBAL so the layout will recognize them.

                Comment

                Working...
                X