Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

    If so could you please give me a sample as I get this error (below) and it won't get fixed unless I send a test case, and I can't due to the nature and size of the database.
    2017-06-09_1639.png

    Thanks Pete
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  • #2
    Re: Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

    SQL as in SQL Server or MySQL? The call to a Stored Procedure is different.

    This looks more like you have a Javacsript error in your code. The error breaks JS processing and therefore the "toLowerCase" JS method is not available.

    Does your Stored Proc work within it's SQL environment? What's the code you're using for the call?
    What version/build of Alpha are you using?
    UX? Grid? Data Source call? XBasic call?

    To many variables... more details are needed.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

      Not able to send a sample but using a stored procedure to populate a list is very straight forward. Screenshot below if you think it'll help. SQL Server 2016 by the way.

      Ashampoo_Snap_Friday, June 9, 2017_18h40m09s_002_.png
      Mike Brown - Contact Me
      Programmatic Technologies, LLC
      Programmatic-Technologies.com
      Independent Developer & Consultant

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

        SQL Server - the Stored Procedure works fine on the initial build of the list, until the UX is saved - the Stored Procedure throws the error.
        This works -
        EXEC spEventsView_02_DurationPatient '2017-05-31', 4187
        This doesn't (After saving the UX)
        EXEC spEventsView_02_DurationPatient :VisitDate, :BPatientID

        Here's the sample UX - it won't run as it can't call SQL, but you can atleast see what it is.
        2017-06-09_2337.png_02Sewyn.a5wcmp
        Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
        Albert Einstein, (attributed)
        US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

          Thanks Mike - yes I have similar things running as well, it's just now in V12 as of this current build - I get this error once I edit it, so frustrating - thanks for answering.
          Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
          Albert Einstein, (attributed)
          US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

            Looks like there's an issue with using an Argument with a Binding of "Set value at Run-time" and then pointing to a Control containing a Date. It doesn't seem to matter if it's a TextBox control set up as Date or Character.

            However, using a session var... the List proc call doesn't mind. So use a session var for now.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

              Thanks David - i'll give that ago - appreciate your time - let me tell you if you were a guest speaker at the Alpha Bash in October i'd seriously think of going..
              Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
              Albert Einstein, (attributed)
              US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

                By the way, this only affects the List Builder. If you were to put a Static Value into your "Set value at Run-time" VisitDate Argument and then set up your List... all will be ok... as you know.

                But, if you were to then switch the Static Value of your Argument to your TextBox control, {TodaysDate}, you'll get an error if you attempt to access the List Builder tabs... or click OK to save the List... but the List will render correctly... and without error.

                So... you don't really need to use a session var. For now, just test with a Static Value for the Argument, and then change it to {TodaysDate} when the List design is done.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

                  David - you reminded me of something I did years ago with this, and that was to ignore the error messages from AA and SQL and they don't matter, as the process of using a SP with as the source for a list is a VERY RAW process, almost lazy in design. I ended up getting it to work by changing the numeric based argument to text, the SQL complained - but it still saves and it works as you say when you run it - thanks for this reminder and your valued contribution to a solution. It was very important to me.
                  Last edited by peteconway; 06-10-2017, 11:59 PM.
                  Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                  Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                  US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

                    The List Builder has now been corrected for Arguments pointing to a Value of {uxControl}.

                    However, your "toLowerCase" original error was something else that you must have corrected.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Has anyone successfully called a SQL stored Procedure in a List with Arguments

                      Lets just say i'm happy it's working. Thanks.
                      Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                      Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                      US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X